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REPLY TO RESPONDENTS’ RESPONSE TO ARGUMENT

[n an effort to excuse their noncompliance with West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)1),
Respondents rely heavily upon the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeal’s pronouncement
that West Virginia Code Section 33-6-31 “is remedial in nature and, therefore, must be construed
liberally in order to effect its purpose.” Syl. Pt. 7. in part, Perkins v. Doe, 177 W.Va. 84, 350
S.E.2d 711 (1986); Mitchell v. Broadnax, 208 W.Va. 36, 337 S.E.2d 882 (2000). WV National
has never denied the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeal’s finding regarding the liberal
construction of West Virginia Code §33-6-31. In fact, it specifically acknowledged it in detail
on pages 19 and 20 of its Brief. Notably, however, Respondents in their Brief and the Circuit
Court below have failed to acknowledge that notwithstanding this liberal construction of West
Virginia Code Section 33-6-31, the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals has also recognized
the legitimacy and applicability of the notice provisions set forth in West Virginia Code Section
33-6-31. Lusk v. Doe, 175 W. Va. 775, 338 S.E.2d 375 (W. Va. 1985). The West Virginia
Supreme Court of Appeals has only ever recognized the tolling of the 24-hour reporting
requirement of the statute in one instance, where a victim of a hit and run is physically unable to
report the occurrence of an accident. To toll this provision otherwise, especially under the fact
and circumstances of this case, would eviscerate the protections against fraud and investigating
agencies opportunity to investigate, charge, and possibly remove from the highway negligent,
careless, and reckless motorists. Further, it would result in unequal treatment of similarly

situated citizens.




L. THE CIRCUIT COURT COMMITTED PLAIN ERROR WHEN IT TOLLED
THE NOTICE REQUIREMENT OF WEST VIRGINIA CODE §33-6-31(e),
RELIEVING RESPONDENTS OF THE STATUTE’S UNAMBIGUOUS
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

Liberally construing the statute does not permit the reading out of the statute the
provisions of the statute that, however inconveniently, preclude an insured’s claim for uninsured
benefits. While the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeal’s policy may be to construe W.Va.
Code §33-6-31 liberally, the legislature defined the limits of that liberal construction, and, the
West Virginia Supreme Court has plainly and consistently imposed said limits. See generally,
Lusk. To interpret W. Va. Code §33-6-31 as Respondents suggest would render the reporting
requirement worthless, despite the fact that individuals like Respondents have available to them
the same resources as individuals whose 24-hour period does not expire on a Saturday. Sunday
or legal holiday.

Respondents™ ability to take out of context and misconstrue the points made by WV
National in its Brief in an effort to defend the plainly wrong decision of the Circuit Court is very
significant. WV National does not suggest that the pending litigation 1s a criminal case as
Respondents allege. Without question, however, the allegations contained in Respondents’
Complaint set forth a crime. Indeed, had the individual whom Respondents allege fled the scene
on the day in question been located, he or she would have likely been charged with at least one
Count of Leaving the Scene of a Crash, violating West Virginia Code § 17C-4-1 and/or -2.

As noted in WV National's Brief, in this regard, the Circuit Court ignored the
legislature’s clear purpose and intent behind this reporting requirement, disregarding the
legislature’s clear recognition of the urgency with which hit-and-run incidents must be

investigated, if the incident itself is to be (1) contirmed and (2) any opportunity to locate and

hold accountable the criminal perpetrator is to be preserved. The prompt 24 hour reporting




requirement for a hit-and-run incident set forth in West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)}(1) enables
police to determine if such an incident did in fact occur, ie., is not a fraudulent claim — from
interviews with people in the neighborhood, possible location and review of video that may exist,
and the presence of debris, fluids, and tire marks at the alleged scene. It also increases the
likelihood of apprehension of the offender. thus facilitating inquiry as to whether the hit-and-run
vehicle was in fact an uninsured vehicle, and allowing the insurer to enforce its subrogation
rights against a negligent uninsured hit-and-run motorist. In Lusk the West Virginia Supreme
Court of Appeals recognized the urgency associated with reporting hit-and-run incidents,
explaining in Syl. Pt. 2 of Lusk, supra, that the initial twenty-four hour pelriod prescribed by
statute is that period “immediately following such accident.”

Summening city, county and state authorities, more particularly, police officers, sheriffs
or deputies and troopers, to the scene of an accident or making a report to city, county or state
authorities is not an act that requires consideration of the day of the week or whether the
particular day is a legal holiday. Emergency service personnel do not close for Saturdays,
Sundays, legal holidays or even inclement weather. There are always (365 days per year) law
enforcement officers on duty, regardless of the agency with which they are affiliated. allowing
individuals to report crimes like the hit-and-run allegedly committed in this litigation. The
Legislature has acknowledged this by enacting a separate code section to govern police officers’
payment and/or compensatory leave for working holidays. See West Virginia Code §8-14-2a.
Police officers, like firefighters and EMTs, are accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365
days per year. Society has deemed their accessibility so paramount to the continued orderly and

peaceful operation of our nation that they are uniformly accessible nearly anywhere one is



located by merely dialing 911. With one call, all three — police officers. firefighters and EMTs —
can be summoned to a single scene of an incident.

Under these circumstances, West Virginia Code §2-2-1 was not intended to and does not
toll the 24-hour reporting period set forth in West Virginta Code §33-6-31. In fact, application
of West Virginia Code §2-2-1 to a hit and run accident only serves to frustrate, if not eliminate
the goals behind West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e}1). One need not wait for a non-Saturday,
Sunday or legal holiday day to report a crime, which is exactly what Respondents allege
occurred here. Crime can be reported on any day of the week, at any time, and, as a society, we
encourage expeditious reporting of crime to prevent further acts and to hold those responsible
accountable. While the Complaint initiated by Respondents giving rise to this Appeal 1s not a
criminal complaint, it, nevertheless, alleges that a crime was, in fact, committed. Crime can be
and should be reported any day of the week, regardless of weekends and holidays.

Essentially, all Respondents really argue in their brief is how an application of West
Virginia Code §2-2-1 would operate, if applied to West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e}(1).
Respondents never actually address any of the arguments advanced by WV National as to why
West Virginia Code §2-2-1 and 2-2-2 are inapplicable to West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1) and
the Circuit Court plainly erred. Respondents and the Circuit Court both mistakenly conclude that
WYV National argues that because Respondents failed to call 911, then Respondents’ claim is
barred by West Virginia Code §33-6-31. This is not WV National's argument. Again, WV
National makes reference to 911 to illustrate the ease with which one can summons the aid of
law enforcement in this State 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. WV National
makes reference to 911 to illustrate that West Virginia Code §2-2-1 was not intended to and does

not toll the 24-hour reporting period set forth in West Virginia Code §33-6-31. Furthermore, 911




is not the only way in which to report the occurrence of a crime. In fact, law enforcement
agencies typically afford the public 24-hour non-emergency numbers by which the authorities
may be called to report crimes, suspected crimes and/or to provide information relative to an
active investigation. Moreover, law enforcement officers serve the public and can be approached
directly while on duty. There are so many ways to report a hit and run accident. The point is
this, Respondents have never articulated why West Virginia Code §2-2-1 is applicable to West
Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)1). especially where both West Virginia Code §§2-2-1 and 2-2-2
govern “official acts™ or “court proceedings™ and define days upon which such official acts or
court/official judicial business can be conducted and/or required of someone. The reporting of
an accident to authorities and/or summoning ot the authorities to an accident scene is not an
“official act™ or a “court proceeding™ as meant by either West Virginia Code §§2-2-1 or 2-2-2
that can be accomplished only on non-Saturday, non-Sunday and non-Holiday business days.
The Respondents interpretation of Lusk does not support the Circuit Court’s improper
application of West Virginia Code §2-2-1 to West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1) Again, in Lusk,
supra, the Court explained that the notice requirement set forth in subsection (e) of West
Virginia Code Section 33-6-31 is enforceable, noting only that “[b]y the clear language of this
provision, the twenty-four hour notice period is tolled as to insureds ‘physically unable to report
the occurrence of such accident ... .”” /d at 381. While the policy may be to construe West
Virginia Code §33-6-31 liberally, the legislature defined the limits of that liberal construction,
and, the West Virginia Supreme Court has plainly and consistently imposed said limits, finding
only physical impossibility tolls the running of the 24-hour reporting period. See generalily,
Lusk. Otherwise, the 24-hour period prescribed in West Virginia Code § 33-6-31 is that period

“immediately following such accident.” Lusk, at Syl. Pt. 2.




In that case, the question was whether “the requirement of notice to authorities by ‘the
insured’ contained in subsection (e)(i) should be construed to the effect that the failure of one
named insured, not directly involved in the accident, to timely report such accident prevents
recovery under the policy by another insured physically unable to report the accident until
sometime after the initial 24-hour pertod.”™ Lusk, 175 W.Va. 775, 338 S.E.2d at 381. The Court
concluded “that the legislature intended that the rights of recovery of each insured, named or
otherwise, are not to be prejudiced by the failure of another to give timely notice.” The Court
concluded that Mrs. Lusk’s (who was hospitalized for eight days following the accident) rights to
uninsured motorist coverage benefits could not be prejudiced by the failure of Mr. Lusk, her
husband, to report the accident. fd  The Court explained that by the clear language of the
provision, the twenty-four hour notice period is tolled as to insureds “physically unable to report
the occurrence of such accident.” /d. “Although another person, whether it be another named or
additional insured, or a friend, relative or witness to the accident, may report the accident on
behalf of a physically injured insured, their failure to do so cannot prejudice those unable to
make such report within the initial twenty-four hour period immediately following such
accident,” Id. In other words. the Court never questioned the 24-hour reporting requirement.
Instead. the Court questioned what was meant by “the insured.”

Pursuant to the logic in Lusk, it is inexplicable how one could conclude that “the facts of
this case are more compelling than the facts of Lusk.” Mr. Dobbins (the insured in the present
case that would be similarly situated to Ms. Lusk) has admitted that, unlike Ms. Lusk. he was
physically and emotionally able to report the incident to anyone he wanted to immediately
following the incident. App. at 0083, at 74-77. Mrs. Dobbins further confirmed both her and

Mr. Dobbins’ fitness such that they could have immediately reported the incident following its
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occurrence had they chosen to do so. App. at 0086-0087; 0089, at 21-23; 42. Summary
judgment was improper as to Mrs. Lusk’s claims because the Court concluded that “the
provision reasonably requires that once a victim of a “hit and run’ is physically able to report the
accident, that victim has twenty-four hours to make the report unless someone in his or her
behalf acts within the same extended time period.” Lusk, 175 W.Va. 775, 338 S.E.2d at 381. The
Court held that “summary judgment was precluded as to her claims by the disputed issues of
material fact pertaining to whether notice was actually sent to DMV, and whether Mrs. Lusk was
physically able to give notice earlier.” [ In Lusk, the accident occurred on Thursday, March 25,
1982, Id 175 W.Va. 775, 338 S.E.2d at 377. Approximately three days later, on Sunday, March
28, 1982, Mr. Lusk visited Mrs. Lusk in the hospital and based upon what she told him “filled
out a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) accident report form and had her sign it.” /d. Mr.
Lusk claims that after undertaking some additional steps to complete the form with his insurance
agent, he mailed the accident report form to the DMV on Tuesday, March 30, 1982. In the
present litigation, there are no questions of material fact that remain. Mr. Dobbins has admitted
that he was physically and emotionally able to report the incident immediately following its
occurrence. Moreover, he and Mrs. Dobbins have admitted that they cannot recall specifically
when they attempted to report the alleged hit-and-run accident, but at the earliest, it was more
than four days after the accident’s occurrence. Merely attempting to report the alleged hit-and-
run to law endorsement is not sufficient. Indeed, the remaining questions of fact identified by the
West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals clearly indicate that. in Lusk, if either (1) notice was
never actually given to the DMV, or (2) even if it was, if Ms. Lusk was physically able to give
notice earlier than such notice was given, then her claim would be barred for failing to comply

with West Virginia Code § 33-6-31.




Importantly, in footnote 4 of Lusk, the Court explains that “the notice provisions of West
Virginia Code §33-6-31(e) affect only the contractual relationship between an insured and
insurer. They are not intended to inure to the benefit of a presently unknown tortfeasor. The
language of subsection (¢) clearly stipulates that the notice provisions are prerequisites only "to
recover under the uninsured motorist endorsement or provision® of the insured's policy.”™ Id.
(Emphasis supplied.) Respondents had a legal duty to comply with all of the prerequisites to
recover under the uninsured motorist endorsement or provision. Accordingly, Respondents’
attempt in this litigation to substitute the notice given to WV National for the notice they were
statutorily obligated to give law enforcement is plainly wrong. Here, like in Lusk, when
Respondents reported the alleged hit-and-run to WV National is not relevant to the question of
when the accident was reported to law enforcement. The question here, like in Lusk, is when
was the alleged hit-and-run reported to law enforcement and was it within the time period
required by West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1). It was not. Lusk does not support the position
of Respondents, and. Respondents’ case is not “more compelling than™ the Lusks’ case such that
this Court should eviscerate the reporting requirement of West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1).

IL THE CIRCUIT COURT [IMPROPERLY CONCLUDED  THAT
RESPONDENTS SOUGHT TO REPORT THE INCIDENT WITHIN THE
“TOLLED” PERIOD.

Respondents essentially concede that that they have no evidence to substantiate when
they actually attempted to report the alleged hit-and-run accident to law enforcement. This is
evidenced by the fact that they seek to have this Court “liberally construe™ the “evidence™ they
presented to the Circuit Court and now this Court. On page 10 of their brief, Respondents state
that “This evidence, after being liberally construed to achieve the public policy goals of W.Va.

Code §33-6-31, demonstrates the Respondents reported this collision to the police on 02/19/19 -




or within the "tolled" twenty-four (24) hour time period.” As a matter of law, a Court cannot
“liberally construe evidence.” A plaintiff can either prove a fact or a plaintiff cannot. It is not
the place of a circuit court to liberally construe evidence in favor of a plaintiff. In the present
case, there is no evidence of what day Respondents actually sought to report the subject accident
such that a “liberal construction’ could even be afforded it or that a genuine issue of material fact
remains. Under these circumstances, the Circuit Court improperly concluded that Respondents
sought to report the incident within the tolled period.

The deposition testimony Respondents point to in their Brief is the same deposition
testimony they pointed to below and the same deposition testimony the Circuit Court erroneously
relied upon to render its decision. On pages 25 through 28 of WV National’s Brief, it explains in
detail the Circuit Court’s misconstruction of Respondents’ testimony as well as the additional
testimony offered by Respondents that clearly demonstrates that there is no evidence of a date
certain when Respondents attempted to report the subject hit-and-run accident to law
enforcement. WV National will avoid restating this four-page explanation herein. It will
however, refer this Court to additional evidence contained in the Appendix that further
substantiates this fact.

On pages 0227-0230, Mrs. Dobbins testified regarding the completion of a claim form
mailed to her on February 21, 2019. App. at 0092, at Ltr.; App. at 0227-0230. On February 21.
2019, WV Virginia National mailed a claim form to Respondents to be completed and returned
to WV National. See id WV National appears to have received the completed form on April 1,
2019, approximately 39 days after it was initially mailed to Respondents. See App. at 0093-

0094, at Completed “Insured Driver Statement Form.”™ During her deposition. Mrs. Dobbins was

asked about her and Mr. Dobbins’ efforts to report the alleged hit-and-run accident to law



enforcement in relation to completion of the claim form and she provided the following
testimony:

Q. So what police department did vou go down there to report it to? Was it
the Logan City Police?

A. | guess it was city police because -- yeah, the city police right there,
where the City Hall is. I guess it's all on one or something. [ don’t know.

Q. Have you all went down there to talk to the city police before you
signed and sent this form back that's —

A. I can't really remember that. I just know that we went down there days
later after the accident.

Q. Is there any reason to believe, Mrs. Dobbins, that whenever you
completed this form that was sent back to West Virginia National, that whenever

this was done, you still hadn't gone down there and made that report?

A. [ don't -- I don’t know. I just know it was several days afier it
happened, is all [ remember.

App. at 0229. While this claim form has a date of February 15, 2019, Mrs. Dobbins has admitted
that that date was not the date of completion of the form by her as she did not even have the form
as of that date. App. at 0230. However, it would appear that it was completed sometime afier
February 21, 2019, the date WV National mailed it to her and Mr. Dobbins. During her
deposition. Mrs. Dobbins could not recall whether she and Mr. Dobbins had gone to “city hall”
at the time she completed this form, which was sometime after February 21, 2019.

Under these circumstances, the Circuit Court committed plain error when it assigned a
date certain to when Respondents sought to inform authorities about this incident. The only
available evidence of when Respondents may have reported the subject incident to the authorities
(Respondents™ own recollections at their depositions) clearly demonstrates that neither Mr.

Dobbins nor Mrs. Dobbins know when they sought to inform the authorities of the incident, but
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have acknowledged that they had not done so at the time they reported the incident to WV
National on February 19, 2019.

Respondents’ reliance upon WVCSR §114-14-4 is misplaced. It is immaterial to this
appeal and is an effort to deflect from their failure to comply with West Virginia statutory law.
Simply put, under the facts and circumstances of this case, Respondents had an affirmative legal
obligation imposed by West Virginia statutory law to report the alleged hit-and-run accident to
law enforcement within 24-hours of its occurrence. That the WV National policy reiterated and
restated Respondents’ affirmative legal duty does not impose a duty upon WV National to
instruct Respondents on West Virginia law. Respondents had an obligation to comply with West
Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1) regardless of the inclusion of mirrored language in WV National’s
Policy.

II. THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED WHEN IT FAILED TO STRICTLY APPLY
WV NATIONAL’S POLICY LANGUAGE, INSTEAD, APPLYING A
PREJUDICE STANDARD.

As WYV National explained in its Brief, its Policy prescribed a time period specifically
authorized by West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)}(1). In fact, WV National’s Policy merely restated
Respondents” affirmative legal duty imposed by West Virginia statute. As a result, it, like West
Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1), must be strictly applied. Further, WV National argues that Youler
is inapplicable to this litigation because it is, in fact, inapplicable. When the facts and
circumstances of Youler are actually considered, it becomes readily apparent that Youler does not
advance the cause of Respondents. Again, as WV National explained in its brief. unlike Youler,
Respondents’ claim does not involve underinsured motorist coverage. Moreover, WV National
does not seek to strictly enforce a notice provision of its policy that requires notice to WV

National, an insurer, to justify its denial of the Respondent’s claim. Rather., Respondent’s
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claim is one for uninsured motorist coverage and strict enforcement of a notice provision to a
police, peace or to a judicial officer that mirrors West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1). In
Youler, the respondents” reporting requirement was the subject of a provision contained in an
insurance policy. Here. while the reporting requirement is subject to a provision contained in an
insurance policy, that requirement mirrors a legal requirement imposed by West Virginia statute.
The issue of notice involved in Youler did not involve notice to the authorities and it did not
mirror an affirmative legal duty imposed by West Virginia law. The duty to report a hit-and-run
incident to a police, peace or judicial officer is not the same duty considered in Youler.

The Youler Court never considered the application of its “prejudice to the investigative
interest of the insurer”™ where the delay in notification by an insured violated a statutory duty.
mirrored in the policy language, to report a hit-and-run accident for purposes of uninsured
motorist coverage to a police, peace or judicial officer. Notably, however, the West Virginia
Legislature has. By establishing the 24-hour reporting period, the West Virginia legislature
concluded that reporting a hit-and-run accident after that initial 24-hour reporting period
prejudices law enforcement’s ability to effectively investigate hit-and-run accidents. The Circuit
Court’s reliance upon Youler to impose a prejudice standard upon Respondents’ requirement to
report a hit-and-run accident to law enforcement was plain error.

To further demonstrate this point and the inapplicability of Youler to this litigatton one
need only to look to Lusk, supra. There, the Court did not apply a “prejudice to the investigative
interest of the insurer,” to the requirements set forth in West Virginia Code § 33-6-31(¢).
Instead, with its holding. the Court essentially recognized that failure of Ms. Lusk to comply
with the plain language of West Virginia Code § 33-6-31(e) by either (1) having failed to ever

actually give notice to the DMV, or (2) even if such notice was given. failing to give earlier
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notice, if Ms. Lusk was physically able to give notice earlier, then her claim would be barred for
failing to comply with West Virginia Code § 33-6-31.

In their Brief, Respondents continue to beat the drum of Colonial Ins. Co. v. Barrett,
Kronjaeger v. The Buckeye Union Ins. Co., Bowyer by Bowyer v. Thomas and Moses
Enterprises, LLC v. Lexington Ins. Co, et al. As WV National explained in its Brief, Colonial,
Kronjaeger and Bowyer do not involve notice requirements that mandate notice to law
enforcement, which mirror an affirmative legal duty imposed by West Virginia law. For these
same reasons, Moses is also not applicable. Again, it also involves a suit where an insured’s
claim was denied for failure to report a claim to the insurer within the time allowed in the policy
provision. The delay in the reporting by Moses was that they had not yet learned that the
purchaser had stolen the identity of another to purchase the vehicle. There, the US District Court
for the Southern District of WV applied a “substantial compliance™ standard, citing to WVCSR
§114-14-4.4, which specifically provides, “[e]xcept where a time limit is specified by statute
or legislative rule, no insurer may require a first-party claimant to give notification of a claim or
proof of claim within a specified time.” In the present litigation, unlike in Moses, the time limit 1s
specified by statute. As such, Respondents in this litigation, unlike in AMoses, had a duty to
comply with West Virginia law or have their uninsured motorist coverage benefit claim denied.

All of the cases cited by Respondents and the Circuit Court are easily distinguishable and
none of them set forth a standard of law that is applicable or that should be applied to the facts
and circumstances of the present case. The prejudice standard applied by the Circuit Court to
WYV National’s Policy language exceeds the rule of law set forth in West Virginia Code §33-6-

31(e)(1) (the source of WV National’s Policy language}. and therefore, is plainly wrong.

13

2 s e e P e e rry Ty Y AR



Respondents seeks to excuse their neglect of their statutory duty by claiming that had
they attempted to report the alleged accident anytime in the 24-hours following the accident they
“would have been instructed to report the collision to City Hall during business hours on
02/19/19 - which is what occurred.”™ First, this is nothing more than speculation and conjecture
on their part as they never tried. Further, their claim that they reported the alleged accident on
February 19, 2019, is not supported by the available evidence. Again, enforcement agencies
typically afford the public 24-hour non-emergency numbers by which the authorities may be
called to report crimes, suspected crimes and/or to provide information relative to an active
investigation. Moreover, law enforcement officers serve the public and can be approached
directly while on duty. There are so many ways to report a hit-and-run accident, and a hit-and-
run accident is a crime for which an individual can be held not only civilly liable, but also
criminally liable. Certainly, it is very easy for Respondents to claim that had they called 911, a
non-emergency law enforcement number and/or approached an on duty officer in the 24-hours
following the accident, none of those sources would have taken their report of the alleged hit-
and-run accident and that they would have been sent to “city hall.” Despite having had
significant time below to develop supporting evidence of this claim, Respondents never
presented any evidence to substantiate this assertion that they now make on appeal.

Moreover, Respondents’ limited education is not an excuse for failure to comply with the
law. As WYV National has noted many times, Respondents failed to comply with their duty to
report the incident within 24-hours of its occurrence pursuant to West Virginia Code §33-6-
31(e)(1). Under West Virginia law, “*[a]ll persons are presumed to know the law. [gnorance
thereof 1s no excuse[.]"™ Hartley Hill Hunt Club v. County Comm'n of Ritchie County. 220 W.Va.

382,391 n. 13,647 5.E.2d 818, 827 n. 13 (2007) (quoting State v. McCoyv, 107 W.Va, 163, 172,
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148 S.E. 127, 130 (1929)).” Dept. of Transp. v. Parkersburg Inn. 671 S.E.2d 693, 222 W.Va,
688 (W. Va.2008). Respondents have never cited to any legal authority to justify why this
general principle should not apply to them.

Again, while Respondents and the Circuit Court both go to great lengths to attack WV
National’s investigation of the alleged subject incident this is plainly wrong. The policy
provision cited by WV National, which, again, mirrors the atfirmative legal duty imposed by
West Virginia Code §33-6-31(e)(1), requires reporting of the incident to law enforcement, not
WYV National. As noted previously, as a matter of law, the West Virginia legislature deemed the
reporting of a hit-and-run accident more than 24-hours after its occurrence, prejudicial to law
enforcement’s ability to effectively investigate hit-and-run accidents. As such, by operation of
statutory law, failure to comply with this reporting requirement precludes an insured from
recovering under the uninsured motorist endorsement or provision. W. Va. Code §33-6-31(e)(1).
The notice requirement contained in WV National’s policy when a “hit-and-run” is involved
mirrors statutory law and is plain and unambiguous. There is no occasion for construction. The
Court is bound to adhere to the policy as written, enforcing West Virginia law as well as the
policy as made.

CONCLUSION

The Circuit Court's order granting Respondents’ Partial Motion for Summary Judgment

should be reversed, and, Petitioner West Virginia National’s Motion for Summary Judgment

should be granted.
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