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JUSTICE NEELY delivered the Opinion of the Court.






SYLLABUS BY THE COURT

1. Statutory changes that are purely procedural in nature

will be applied retroactively.

2. W. Va. Code, 38-1-4 [1987], requires that notice to

the grantor of a deed of trust be given a reasonable time before the

sale.

3. "Our traditional contract conflict rule gives
substantial deference to the state where the contract is made and
where it is to be performed, assuming both incidents occur in the
same state. This rule is subject to two qualifications: (1) that
the parties have not made a choice of applicable law in the contract
itself; and (2) the law of the other state does not offend our public

policy." Lee v. Saliga, W. Va. , 373 S.E.2d 345, 351 (1988).




Neely, J.:

In this case, the Circuit Court of Mineral County has

certified the following questions to us:

1. Does the 1987 version of W. Va. Code § 38-1-4 apply
to a situation where notice of trustee's sale was published
on July 26, August 2, and August 9, 1989, after the effective
date of the 1987 statute?

2. Does the 1987 version of W. Va. Code § 38-1-4 require
notice of trustee's sale by certified mail on the grantor
of the deed of trust at least twenty (20) days prior to
the date of the sale?

3. Does W. Va. Code, Chapter 46A, West Virginia Consumer
Credit and Protection Act, specifically W. Va. Code

§ 46A-2-106, which gives a consumer a right to cure default,
apply to a loan transaction entered into in the State of
Maryland and a deed of trust on property located in the
State of West Virginia, where the legislature specified
certain exceptions to the applicability of the Chapter,
and such a situation does not fall within the exceptions?

4. Do the laws of the State of Maryland or the laws of
the State of West Virginia govern as to the loan agreement
entered into in the State of Maryland with a deed of trust
on property located in the State of West Virginia securing
that loan?

We answer the certified questions as follows:

1. Yes;
2. No;
3. No;
4. The laws of the State of Maryland govern the loan

agreement.



Terrence L. Joy and Sheila Ray Joy owned some land in Mineral

County, West Virginia which they used as security for a $46,500 loan
from the Chessie Employees Federal Credit Union. Mr. and Mrs. Joy,
along with Brooks A. Joy, Terrence Joy's father, as co-signer, entered
into the loan agreement and executed the deed of trust at a Chessie
office in Maryland on 8 January 1987. By 1989, the Joys fell behind
on their payments, and Chessie began foreclosure proceedings. Mr.
and Mrs. Joy claim that they notified Chessie their payments would
be late and that Chessie assured them it would accept the late payments.
Chessie, on the other hand, claims that the Joys were regularly late

in making payments and that it told them continued late payments would
lead to foreclosure. Beginning 26 July 1989, the trustee under the
deed of trust published a notice of trustee's sale in the Mineral

County Tribune for three weeks. The trustee alsomailed (by certified

mail, return receipt requested) notice to the Joys on 24 July 1989,
which notice the Joys received on 27 July 1989. On 11 August 1989,
the Joys' home was sold for $46,500, an amount that both parties agree

was significantly below the property's appraised value.

The circuit court found that the 1985 version of W. Va.
Code, 38-1-4 applied to the deed of trust, but that if the 1987 version
applied, the statute did not require 20 days notice to the Joys.

The court also found that W. Va. Code, Chapter 46A, the Consumer Credit




and Protection Act,

did not apply to the loan between the Joys and

Chessie and that Maryland law controlled the interpretation of the

note and loan. The circuit court, thereafter, certified the four

questions stated above.

IT.

The legislature amended W. Va. Code, 38-1-4 in 1987.1

Chessie claims that the 1987 version of the statute cannot be applied

IW. Va. Code,

38-1-4 [1987] provides:

Unless property is to be sold under a deed of trust
executed and delivered prior to the first day
of July, one thousand nine hundred eighty, which
contains a provision waiving the requirement of
published notice, the trustee shall publish a
notice of a trustee's sale as a Class II legal
advertisement in compliance with the provisions

of article three [§ 59-3-1 et seqg.], chapter
fifty-nine of this code, and the publication area
for such publication shall be the county where
the property is located: Provided, That any
notice of sale published since the first day of
July, one thousand nine hundred eighty, and prior
to the effective date of this section [June 9,
1987], shall be deemed to have met the
requirements of the section 1f such were
published as Class II legal advertisements, in
compliance with the provisions of article three,
chapter fifty-nine of this code, in that by the
enactment of the acts of the Legislature, regular

session,

one thousand nine hundred eighty, the

Legislature intended that all notice of sales
pursuant to trust deeds were to have been
published as Class II legal advertisements.

Except as expressly provided in this section, no trust
deed shall waive the requirements of publication
of notice required by this section.



(..continued)

In all cases, a copy of such notice shall be served on
the grantor in such trust deed, or his agent or
personal representative, by certified mail,
return receipt requested, directed to the
address shown by the grantors on the deed of trust
or such other address given to the beneficiary
of said trust deed or said beneficiary's agent
or assignee 1in writing by the said grantor
subsequent to the execution and delivery of the
trust deed and notice shall be deemed complete
when such notice is mailed to the aforesaid
address, notwithstanding the fact that such mail
may be returned as refused or undeliverable and
shall be served by certified mail, at least
twenty days prior to the sale, wupon any
subordinate lienholder who has previously
notified the primary lienholder by certified
mail of the existence of a subordinate lien.
Every trust deed shall state the address to which
such notice shall be mailed.

Every notice of sale by a trustee under a trust deed shall
show the following particulars: (a) The time
and place of sale; (b) the names of the parties
to the deed under which it will be made; (c) the
date of the deed; (d) the office and book in which
it is recorded; (e) the quantity and description
of the land or other property or both conveyed
thereby; and (f) the terms of sale.

Notice to a subordinate lienholder shall be complete when
such notice 1is mailed in accordance with the
provisions of this section, directed to the
address of the subordinate lienholder as
provided by such subordinate lienholder in the
notice of existence of a subordinate lien.

The provisions of this section relating to the methods
of serving notice are not exclusive. In
addition to, but not in lieu of, any service of
notice required by the provisions of this
section, service of such notice may be also made
by any other method authorized for service of
original process in the circuit courts of this
state Dby statute or by the rules of civil
procedure for trial courts of record.

An individual who purchases property at a trustee's sale
is under no duty to ascertain whether notice was
given to subordinate lienholders in accordance



(..continued)
with the provisions of this section, and such
right, title and interest as the purchaser may
acquire shall not be affected by defects in such
notice or the service thereof, if the purchaser
is otherwise a bona fide purchaser for value.

W. Va. Code, 38-1-4 [1985] provides:

Unless property is to be sold under a deed of trust
executed and delivered prior to the first day
of July, one thousand nine hundred eighty, which
contains a provision waiving the requirement of
published notice, or the property to be sold is
in the opinion of the trustee of less value than
two thousand dollars, the trustee shall publish
a notice of a trustee's sale as a Class III legal
advertisement in compliance with the provisions

of article three [§ 59-3-1 et seqg.], chapter
fifty-nine of this code, and the publication area
for such publication shall be the county where
the property is located. If in the opinion of
the trustee the property is of less value than
two thousand dollars, such notice of sale shall
be posted at least twenty days prior thereto at
the front door of the courthouse of the county
in which the property is to be sold, and at three
other public places in the county, one of which
shall be as near as practicable to the premises
to be sold if the sale is of real estate. 1In
all cases, whether the notice is published or
not, a copy of such notice shall be served on
the grantor in such trust deed, or his agent or
personal representative, if he or they are within
the county, at least twenty days prior to the
sale, unless service of such notice be expressly
waived by the grantor in any such trust deed;
and shall be served by certified mail, at least
twenty days prior to the sale, upon any
subordinate lienholder who has previously
notified the primary lienholder by certified
mail of the existence of a subordinate lien:
Provided, That notice need not be given to a
subordinate lienholder for sales for which
notice has been posted or published prior to the

effective date of this section. Every notice
of sale by a trustee under a trust deed shall
show the following particulars: (a) The time

and place of sale; (b) the names of the parties
to the deed under which it will be made; (c) the



to a deed of trust executed before the effective date of the statute
even if the foreclosure proceeding takes place after the effective

date of the statute.

Although the retroactive application of some laws would
violate due process, we have consistently held that statutory changes
that are purely procedural in nature will be applied retroactively.

Pnakovich v. SWCC, W. Va. , 259 S.E.2d 127 (1979). Purely

procedural changes do not impair the reliance interests of the parties.

As we stated in Pnakovich:

In determining whether a statute should be applied
retroactively perhaps the most fundamental
principle to which we look is reliance since a
person should be able to plan his conduct with
reasonable certainty. The traditional analysis
invoked in determining the legitimacy of a

(..continued)

date of the deed; (d) the office and book in which
it is recorded; (e) the quantity and description
of the land or other property or both conveyed
thereby; and (f) the terms of sale: Provided,
however, That except as expressly provided in
this section, no trust deed shall waive the
requirements of publication of notice as
required Dby this section. Notice to a
subordinate lienholder shall be complete when
such notice is mailed in accordance with the
provisions of this section, directed to the
address of the subordinate lienholder as
provided by such subordinate lienholder in the
notice of existence of a subordinate lien.

An individual who purchases property at a trustee's sale
is under no duty to ascertain whether notice was
given to subordinate lienholders in accordance
with the provisions of this section, and such
right, title and interest as the purchaser may
acquire shall not be affected by defects in such
notice or the service thereof, if the purchaser
is otherwise a bona fide purchaser for value.



statute's application is whether the statute
abrogates a "vested" right. Since the vested
right analysis tends to be as conclusory as the
substantive/ procedural analysis the better test
is whether the individual has changed his
position in reliance upon existing laws, or
whether the retrospective act defeats the
reasonable expectations of the parties it
affects. (Footnotes omitted.)

Pnakovich at , 259 S.E.2d at 130.

For some statutes, distinguishing between substantive
changes and procedural changes is difficult. However, this case
involves a statutory amendment that merely changed the procedure by
which a creditor can foreclose on a deed of trust. The procedures
effected are a part of the foreclosure process -- which in this case
took place after the effective date of the 1987 amendments. Chessie
certainly did not modify its position in reliance on the statutory
amendments, nor did the amendments affect the initial reasonable

expectations of the parties. Because the amendments to W. Va. Code,

38-1-4 were procedural, the 1987 wversion of the statute applies in

this case.

ITT.

The Joys contend that the 1987 amendments do not affect
the required 20 day statutory notice. They claim that the legislature
intended to make foreclosure more difficult and, therefore, would

not have removed the 20 day requirement. The plain language of the



statute is at odds with the Joys' contention. W. Va. Code, 38-1-4

[1985] provided:

In all cases, whether the notice is published or not,
a copy of such notice shall be served on the
grantor and such trustee, or his agent or
personal representative, if he or they are within
the county, at least 20 days prior to the sale,
unless service of such notice be expressly waived
by the grantor and any such trustee; and shall
be served by certified mail, at least 20 days
prior to the sale, upon any subordinate
lienholder . . . . [Emphasis added.]

The same portion of W. Va. Code, 38-1-4 [1987] provides:
In all cases, a copy of such notice shall be served on
the grantor and such trustee, or his agent or
personal representative, by certified mail,
return receipt requested, directed to the
address shown by the grantors on the deed of trust
and notice shall be deemed complete when
such notice is mailed to the aforesaid address,
and shall be served by certified mail, at
least 20 days prior to the sale, upon any
subordinate lienholder . . . . [Emphasis

added. ]

As part of the 1987 amendment, the legislature removed the
20 day requirement for notice to the grantor. Removal of the 20 day
requirement, however, does not allow the trustee to mail notice to
the grantor whenever he chooses. When a contract sets no firm time

for its completion, a reasonable time is implied. Maze v. Bennett,

114 wW. Va. 169, 171 S.E. 249 (1933). Similarly, when a statute
mandates that something be done, but sets no firm time requirement,
we will imply a reasonable time. Notice must be given a reasonable
amount of time prior to the sale, and, in this case, 18 days was

reasonable notice. Notwithstanding the fact that the legislature



removed the 20 day requirement, it did strengthen W. Va. Code, 38-1-4.

Grantors may no longer waive notice. Previously, grantors could
waive notice altogether; and it does not take a great deal of knowledge
about the credit industry to understand that if grantors can waive
notice, creditors will make such waiver a standard part of their form

agreements.

Iv.

The Joys present several reasons for this Court to apply
West Virginia law to the loan agreement. They contend that because
this loan was associated with a deed of trust on property located
in West Virginia, the loan agreement must be judged by West Virginia
law. The Joys also contend that we must apply West Virginia law in
order to further the legislature's intent to protect consumers.
Finally, they contend that general choice of law analysis favors the

application of West Virginia law.

The court below found, and no one disputes, that West
Virginia law applies to the deed of trust in question. The loan
agreement, however, was separate from the deed of trust and the money
from the loan was used to finance a business -- not to improve the
real property. Therefore, the circuit court's decision properly
protects our jurisdiction over issues involving property located in

West Virginia.



The Joys' second argument seems to imply that this Court
should always apply West Virginia law whenever a West Virginia consumer
is involved. This application of West Virginia law would exceed the

U. S. Supreme Court's "significant relationship" test (see, Allstate

Ins. Co. v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302 (1981)), and it also implies that

our sister states are not willing to protect consumers. We do not
share this belief and will apply our general choice of law principles

to this case.

Conflicts of law is often a confusing subject, and the

Supreme Court's opinion in Hague offers few real guidelines. Most

often in close or reasonably close cases, state courts choose to apply
their own law, citing the "significant relationship" test from Hague.

This case, however, is not a close one. The Joys went to Maryland

and contracted for a loan with a credit union located in Maryland,

the payments on which were to be made in Maryland.

As we stated in Lee v. Saliga, W. Va. , 373 S.E.2d

345, 351 (1988):

Our traditional contract conflict rule gives substantial
deference to the state where the contract is made
and where it is to be performed, assuming both
incidents occur in the same state. This rule
is subject to two qualifications: (1) that the
parties have not made a choice of applicable law
in the contract itself; and (2) the law of the
other state does not offend our public policy.

10



The trial court was correct in determining that the West

Virginia Consumer Credit and Protection Act (W. Va. Code, Ch. 46A)

does not apply in this case because choice of law principles dictate
that the law of Maryland control the loan agreement. Because it is
unnecessary, we do not address here the Jjurisdictional exceptions

found in W. Va. Code, 40A-1-104 [1979].

For the foregoing reasons, the certified questions are

answered.

Certified questions answered.
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