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PREFACE 
 
 
 
The West Virginia Guardian and Conservator Training Manual is designed to provide education 
to an individual who is undertaking the responsibilities of being appointed by the court to serve 
as  a  guardian or  conservator, or both.    The  information  contained  in  the  Training Manual  is 
presented as general educational  information to help guardians and conservators  in their new 
responsibilities, but is not and should not be considered legal advice.  To resolve specific issues 
or  problems,  a  guardian  or  conservator  should  seek  advice  from  an  attorney.    This  training 
manual cannot be cited or relied upon in actual legal proceedings.  You are cautioned to always 
check  the  most  current  applicable  statutes,  rules  and  case  law  for  use  in  actual  legal 
proceedings. 
 
We invite you to share the West Virginia Guardian and Conservator Training Manual with others 
and to make copies as needed for educational purposes. 
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CHAPTER 1

SO YOU'VE BEENSELECTEDFOR APPOINTMENT ...
WHAT NEXT?

FILING AFFIDAVIT OF MANDATORY EDUCATION

Unless the court has entered an Order indicating that -you do not have to complete mandatory

education because you have already completed the same within the last 3 years, you are

required to complete educational training within 30 days of the date the court determines that

there is a protected person.

If you are unable to access the online tutorial by link from the West Virginia Supreme Court
" CO~ftsWt).~ov . ..

public Web site at http://WWW.S~8~.I!J'oI.!:I5k\rS€61, then you may read and study this Training

Manual to fulfill the education requirement. After completion of this training, you will need to

file an affidavit with the court, certifying that you have completed the required mandatory
education.

To obtain a copy of the affidavit, see your local clerk of the circuit court for the proper form.

This form is also available on the Court website. The affidavit must be notarized before filing.

POSTING BOND

If you are a guardian, you should check the court Order of Appointment to determine whether

you are required to post a bond. Not all guardians are required to post a bond; it depends upon
the circumstances of the case on whether the judge will order a bond posted. NO bond is
required of the Department of Health and Human Resources.

If you are a conservator, you are required to post a bond unless you are excused by court order
as a:

• Banking institution

Nonbanking subsidiary of a bank holding company

Nonbanking subsidiary of a bank or entity Jointly owned by federally insured depository
institutions

•
•

No bond is required of a sheriff appointed as conservator.

Outside of these listed exceptions, ALL conservators are required by law to post a bond. The

type and amount of bond you must post will be indicated in your court Order. Read it carefully.

If you are required to post a bond, proof of bonding must be submitted to the court within 30

days of entry of the Order regarding the bond. If you cannot obtain a bond in the type or
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amount ordered, you must go back to court to ask the court to change or reduce the required 
bond. YOUR APPOINTMENT WILL NOT BE MADE OR BECOME EFFECTIVE  IF YOU DO NOT POST 
THE REQUIRED BOND. 

TAKING THE OATH OF OFFICE 

Your  appointment  as  a  guardian  or  conservator  will  only  become  effective  after  you  have 
subscribed  to  and  filed  an  oath  promising  to  faithfully  perform  the  duties  of  the  office  in 
accordance with  the  law.   You  should go  to  the office of  the Clerk of  the Circuit Court  to be 
administered your oath of office. 

REQUIRED NOTIFICATIONS YOU MUST MAKE AFTER APPOINTMENT 

Within 14 days of the date the Order of Appointment  is entered, you must mail a copy of the 
Order of Appointment,  together with  the statement of  the  right  to appeal  for modification or 
termination  (which  is  attached  to  the Order)  to  the protected person  and  all  individuals  and 
entities that received notice of the original petition. 

REIMBURSEMENT OF FILING FEES 

Fees actually paid  in the guardianship and/or conservatorship court case for filing the petition 
(currently $110) and other papers, for service of process, and for copies of court documents and 
transcripts must  be  reimbursed  by  law  to  the  person  filing  the  petition  from  the  protected 
person's estate if funds are available and if a guardian or conservator is appointed in the case. 

PAYING THE PROTECTED PERSON’S APPOINTED COUNSEL 

Unless the court finds the protected person's estate devoid of funds, a reasonable 
rate of compensation is required to be paid from the estate to counsel appointed 
for the protected person.   

The conservator will be presented a bill for payment from the protected person's 
counsel. Counsel  is  required  to  inform  the court of his or her hourly  rate at  the 
outset of the case and seek approval of his or her fee from the court. 

SET UP A FILE 

Get organized and set up a file in which you keep copies of all matters concerning the 
protected person and your guardianship and/or conservatorship.   Start by having on 
file  all  Orders,  authorizations  and  directions  of  the  Circuit  Court  regarding  the 
protected person. Read the Orders, authorizations and directions thoroughly and do 
not exceed the authority granted by them. 

Add a copy to the file of any item concerning the protected person or your guardianship and/or 
conservatorship as they occur.   Getting organized now will aid both the protected person and 
you should any claims be made against either of you in the future. Later, be sure to add copies 
of all reports and accountings you must file. 
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CHAPTER 1 SELF TEST 

1. After completing this education training, what must you file with the circuit 
clerk? 

A. An affidavit signed before a notary that you have completed the mandatory 
education  

B. A letter to the court that you have completed the mandatory education  
C. A copy of your answers to the Chapter questions of this training 

2. If you are unable to obtain the type or amount of bond the court ordered you 
to obtain, what must you do? 

A. Forget about the bond  
B. Get whatever bond you can closest to the type or amount ordered  
C. Take the bond issue back to the court to ask for a change in the bond 

3. Where must you go to take your oath of office? 

A. The office of the circuit clerk  
B. To a notary public  
C. To the Sheriff 

4. How many days do you have to mail a copy of your Order of Appointment and 
Statement of the right to appeal to the protected person and all individuals 
and entities that received notice of the original petition? 

A. 30  
B. 15  
C. 14 

5. Can the person who filed the original petition to appoint a guardian or 
conservator be reimbursed from the protected person’s estate for the cost of 
filing? 

A. Yes, if the person has kept a receipt  
B. Yes, if funds are available to pay the costs in the protected person’s estate  
C. No, the cost of filing is not reimbursable 

6. What expenses in addition to filing fees can be reimbursed to the person filing 
the petition? 

A. None, no other expenses are reimbursable  
B. Filing fees for other papers, service of process costs, and cost of copies of court 

documents and transcripts  
C. Any expenses for which receipts have been kept 
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7. The attorney appointed to represent the protected person in the court action 
to appoint a guardian or conservator is required to be paid from the protected 
person’s estate unless the court makes what finding? 

A. The estate would have to sell personal property to pay the fee  
B. The estate is devoid of funds  
C. There is not exception; the estate must always pay the fee 

8. Who must approve the amount of the fee charged by the protected person’s 
attorney before it can be paid? 

A. The conservator  
B. The guardian if no conservator was appointed  
C. The court 

9. When is the attorney representing the protected person required to inform the 
court of his or her hourly rate? 

A. At the onset of the guardianship or conservatorship case  
B. At the end of the guardianship or conservatorship case  
C. Never, it is to be agreed upon between the protected person and the attorney 

10. It is highly recommended that you do the following when starting your duties 
as a guardian or conservator: 

A. Get organized by creating and keeping up to date a file in which to keep copies 
of all matters concerning the protected person and your guardianship or 
conservatorship  

B. Keep records in a number of places and disorganized so that later claims that 
you are unable to fulfill the appointment duties can be substantiated and you 
can be removed from the position as you will not be able to find needed 
documentation  

C. All of the above answers 

See pages 48–49 in Chapter 7 of this manual for the answers.   
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CHAPTER 2 

 
 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION CONCERNING 
GUARDIANSHIP AND CONSERVATORSHIP 

 

PROTECTED PERSON 

The protected person  is the person for whom a guardian or conservator  is 
appointed. A protected person may also be a missing person. 

A protected person is an adult, 18 or older, who has been found by a court, because of mental 
impairment,  to  be  unable  to  receive  and  evaluate  information  effectively  or  to  respond  to 
people, events, and environments to such an extent that the individual lacks the capacity to: 

 Meet the essential requirements for his or her health, care, safety, habilitation, or 
therapeutic needs without the assistance or protection of a guardian; or  

 Manage property or financial affairs or to provide for his or her support or for the 
support of legal dependents without the assistance or protection of a conservator  

GUARDIAN 

A guardian  is a person appointed by  the court who  is responsible  for  the personal affairs of a 
protected person. Guardian responsibilities include: 

 Deciding where the protected person will live 
 Providing meals, clothing and activities 
 Providing daily care 
 Arranging transportation 
 Making health care decisions  

In addition, the guardian has  legal duties that must be  fulfilled. This will be explained  in more 
detail in Chapter 4. 

Limited Guardian 

A person may be appointed as a  limited guardian and have only  those  responsibilities  for  the 
personal  affairs  that  are  specified  in  the Order of Appointment.   This occurs when  the  court 
determines that a protected person needs a guardian for specified purposes, but is also capable 
of addressing some of the essential requirements for his or her health, care or safety.  A limited 
guardian may also be appointed as a substitute decision‐maker in certain circumstances. 
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Temporary Guardian 

Sometimes the court will appoint a temporary guardian if it finds that an immediate need exists.  
A  temporary guardian has only  those powers and duties  specifically  set  forth  in  the Order of 
Appointment, and the appointment lasts only a limited time.  The appointment of a temporary 
guardian will expire within 6 months unless it is terminated or extended for up to 6 months by 
the court or mental hygiene commissioner for good cause shown, following a hearing. 

CONSERVATOR 

A  conservator  is  a  person  appointed  by  the  court  who  is  responsible  for 
managing  the estate and  financial affairs of a protected person.   The "estate" 
includes  anything  that  can be owned,  such  as  real  estate, personal property, 
stocks, bonds or other interests in property. 

Conservator responsibilities include: 

 Controlling the protected person's assets  
 Paying bills  
 Managing property  

A person may be appointed as a full, limited or temporary conservator. 

In addition, the conservator has legal duties that must be fulfilled. This will be explained in more 
detail in Chapter 5. 

CO‐GUARDIANS AND CO‐CONSERVATORS 

If  the  court  determined  that  it  was  in  the  best  interests  of  the 
protected person, you and another may have been appointed to share 
the responsibilities and duties of appointment together.  

Each  co‐guardian  and  co‐conservator  is  responsible  for  fulfilling  the 
responsibilities  and  legal  duties  placed  upon  a  guardian  or 
conservator. The fact that one co‐guardian or co‐conservator may not 
be fulfilling his or her duties and responsibilities does NOT relieve the 
other for also not acting as required by law. 

COMPENSATION 

Any  guardian  or  conservator  is  entitled  to  reasonable  compensation  as 
allowed  by  the  court  from  the  estate,  including  reimbursement  of  costs 
advanced.    The  frequency  and  amount  of  all  compensation  must  be 
approved by the court. 

You cannot pay yourself for your work as a guardian or conservator from the protected person's 
estate (checking account, etc.) unless you have a court order allowing you to do so. 
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ADVANCE DIRECTIVES 

If you believe an advance directive such as a  living will, medical power of attorney or durable 
power of attorney was executed by the protected person when not competent, then you should 
consult an attorney about what  legal action may be taken to dispute or  invalidate the advance 
directive.  You cannot revoke or amend a protected person's durable power of attorney without 
court approval. 

REPORTS AND ACCOUNTINGS 

The reports of guardians and  inventory and accountings of conservators that you 
are  required  to  file  are  required  by  law  to  be  examined  semi‐annually  by  a 
fiduciary  commissioner  or  other  person  appointed  by  the  court.    These will  be 
discussed in more detail in Chapters 4 and 5. 

WHAT  LAW  GOVERNS  THE  PROCEDURE  FOR  APPOINTMENT  OF  A  GUARDIAN  OR 
CONSERVATOR OF AN ADULT? 

These procedures are  found  in § 44A‐1‐1  to § 44A‐4‐7 of  the West Virginia Code. This  is  the 
court procedure you went through to be appointed. 
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CHAPTER 2 SELF TEST 

1. Which are guardian responsibilities? 

A. Providing or arranging for daily care for the protected person  
B. Making health care decisions for the protected person not already made by a 

valid advance directive  
C. All of the above 

2. Where does one look to determine the responsibilities of a limited guardian? 

A. It depends upon what the protected person tells the limited guardian  
B. One needs to consult with family, friends, or care givers of the protected person  
C. One must look to the court order of appointment which specifies the 

responsibilities of the limited guardian 

3. When does a temporary guardian’s appointment expire? 

A. Within 6 months of the appointment unless extended by court order; one must 
check the court order  

B. It does not expire  
C. It expires when the case goes back to court 

4. What is included in the estate of a protected person? 

A. Anything that can be owned  
B. Real estate, personal property, stocks, bonds, and other interests in property  
C. All of the above 

5. Which are conservator responsibilities? 

A. Paying bills of and for the protected person  
B. Managing property and controlling assets of the protected person  
C. All of the above 

6. If one co‐guardian or co‐conservator does not do his or her duties as required 
by law, what must the other co‐guardian or co‐conservator do? 

A. Wait until the other co‐guardian or co‐conservator wants to act  
B. Act to fulfill the duties and responsibilities as a guardian or conservator as 

required by law even if the other co‐guardian or co‐conservator does nothing  
C. Argue with the co‐guardian or co‐conservator until you get them to act 
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7. How does a guardian or conservator get paid for their work? 

A. You ask the court to approve the frequency and amount of compensation that 
you want to be paid for your work  

B. You simply have the guardian pay you for your work  
C. You must have a written agreement with the guardians to be paid for your work 

8. If you believe a protected person’s durable power of attorney needs changed, 
how do you do this? 

A. You simply have the protected person execute a new power of attorney  
B. You tear up the old one and substitute a new one with your signature  
C. You must take the request to have the power of attorney changed back to the 

court for approval 

9. How often will the guardian reports or conservator accountings that you file be 
examined? 

A. Semi‐annually  
B. Never  
C. Once every 2 years 

10. Where can you find additional information and state law on guardianship and 
conservatorship law? 

A. You can read the law on adult guardianship and conservatorship in Chapter 44A 
of the West Virginia Code  

B. You can go to a state law library and seek out assistance in looking up Chapter 
44A of the West Virginia Code  

C. Both of the above 

See pages 49–50 in Chapter 7 of this manual for the answers. 
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CHAPTER 3 
 
 
 

WHAT I MUST NOT DO AS A 
GUARDIAN OR CONSERVATOR 

 

EMPLOYMENT OR AFFILIATION LIMITATIONS 

A  guardian  or  conservator  is  not  permitted  by  law  to  be  employed  by  or  affiliated with  any 
public agency, entity or facility that is providing substantial services or financial assistance to the 
protected person.  For example, this means that you could not take a job as an employee of the 
elderly care home in which the protected person lives. 

DO BUSINESS WITH OR PROFIT 

No guardian or conservator nor any officer, agent, director, servant or employee of any guardian 
or conservator may do business with or in any way profit, either directly or indirectly, from the 
estate or income of any protected person. 

The only  exception  to  this  is  reasonable  compensation  as  allowed by  the  court 
from the estate,  including reimbursement for costs advanced by the guardian or 
conservator.    See  the  section  under  "Compensation"  in  this manual,  located  in 
Chapter 2, for more information on allowed compensation. 

MAKE LOANS TO SELF 

The  law strictly prohibits a conservator from making  loans from the accounts of the protected 
person to a conservator or his or her spouse. 

USE FUNDS FOR DEFENSE OF WRONGDOING 

No guardian or conservator may use funds out of the estate in defense of an 
allegation of wrongdoing made on behalf of the protected person against the 
guardian or conservator.    If you are accused of doing something wrong as a 
guardian  or  conservator,  you  cannot  use  the  protected  person's money  or 
property to pay for your defense. 
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BE A CREDITOR 

A person who has an interest as a creditor of a protected person is not eligible for appointment 
as either a guardian or conservator.  There are some limited exceptions in the law for banks and 
trust companies acting as conservators.   Therefore, you may not  loan money to the protected 
person.  There is no prohibition, however, for giving gifts to the protected person. 

FAIL TO FILE CONSERVATOR ACCOUNTINGS AND GUARDIAN REPORTS 

It  is a criminal violation to knowingly fail to file conservator accountings and guardian reports.  
You can be fined between $100 to $500 per violation.   

EMBEZZLED OR CONCEALED FUNDS 

As a guardian or conservator, you may be held personally  liable  for a breach of your  fiduciary 
duty  to  the protected person and  required  to pay  restitution  for any embezzled or concealed 
funds.  Embezzlement or concealment of funds may also result in criminal charges against you. 

MISAPPROPRIATION OR MISUSE OF FUNDS OR ASSETS 

As a guardian or conservator, you have assumed various legal responsibilities for the protected 
person.    If  the protected person  is unable  to  carry on  the daily activities of  life necessary  to 
sustaining life and reasonable health because the protected person is of advanced age, physical, 
mental or other infirmity, he or she will be considered an “incapacitated adult” and you will be 
considered a “caregiver”  for purposes of criminal action should you misappropriate or misuse 
the protected person’s  funds or assets.    Significant  criminal penalties attach  for a  caregiver’s 
misappropriation or misuse of an incapacitated adult’s funds or assets including: 
 

 For intentional misappropriation or misuse of $1000 or more in value, imprisonment in 
a  state  correctional  facility  for  one  to  up  to  10  years  plus  fines  up  to  $5000 will  be 
imposed.  If the value is less than $1000, the fine is up to $1000 plus up to one year in 
jail. 

 If  intentional  intimidation,  infliction or bodily  injury or threats of bodily  injury are used 
to willfully misappropriate or misuse  funds or assets,  imprisonment of not  less  than 3 
years and not more than 15 years, plus fines will be imposed. 

ELDER NEGLECT 

You must not neglect, nor allow others to neglect the protected person. 
 
As  a  guardian,  you  have  assumed  the  legal  responsibility  for  the  protected  person.    If  the 
protected person is unable to carry on the daily activities of life necessary to sustaining life and 
reasonable health because the protected person  is of advanced age, physical, mental or other 
infirmity, he or  she will be  considered an  “incapacitated adult”  and  you will be  considered a 
“caregiver”  for purposes of  criminal action  should  you neglect or allow others  to neglect  the 
protected  person.    Significant  criminal  penalties  attach  for  a  caregiver’s  neglect  of  an 
incapacitated adult including: 
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 For intentional and malicious neglect that causes substantial physical pain, illness or any 
impairment of physical  condition,  imprisonment  in a  state  correctional  facility  for not 
less than 2 and up to 10 years as well as fines will be imposed.  If serious bodily injury is 
caused, the penalty raises to not less than 3 years and up to 15 years imprisonment in a 
state correctional facility plus fines.  If death occurs, the penalty raises to not less than 5 
years and up to 15 years imprisonment plus fines.  This criminal penalty can be imposed 
against  you  if  you  knowingly  permit  another  person  to  intentionally  and maliciously 
neglect the person and it results in death of the person. 

 Even  if  the neglect  is not  intentional or malicious, but unreasonable  failure  to provide 
care necessary to assure the person’s physical safety or health, jail time up to one year 
plus fines will be imposed.  This criminal penalty can also be imposed against you if you 
knowingly permit another person to neglect the incapacitated adult. 

ELDER ABUSE 

Be on notice that parties, attorneys and mental hygiene commissioners are required by  law to 
report alleged elder abuse violations  to  the Department of Health and county prosecutors  for 
further investigation and action.  Elder abuse can result in arrest and criminal conviction. 

 

 

 

You must not abuse, nor allow others to abuse the protected person. 

As  a  guardian,  you  have  assumed  the  legal  responsibility  for  the  protected  person.    If  the 
protected person is unable to carry on the daily activities of life necessary to sustaining life and 
reasonable health because the protected person  is of advanced age, physical, mental or other 
infirmity, he or  she will be  considered an  “incapacitated adult”  and  you will be  considered a 
“caregiver”  for  purposes  of  criminal  action  should  you  abuse  or  allow  others  to  abuse  the 
protected  person.    Significant  criminal  penalties  attach  for  a  caregiver’s  abuse  of  an 
incapacitated adult including: 

 For  intentional and malicious abuse that causes substantial physical pain,  illness or any 
impairment of physical  condition,  imprisonment  in a  state  correctional  facility  for not 
less than 2 and up to 10 years as well as fines will be imposed.  If serious bodily injury is 
caused, the penalty raises to not less than 3 years and up to 15 years imprisonment in a 
state correctional facility plus fines.  If death occurs, the penalty raises to not less than 5 
years and up to 40 years  imprisonment.   This criminal penalty can be  imposed against 
you  if you knowingly permit another person to  intentionally and maliciously abuse the 
person and it results in death of the person. 

 Even if the abuse is not intentional or malicious, jail time not less than 90 days and up to 
one year plus fines will be  imposed.   This criminal penalty can also be  imposed against 
you if you knowingly permit another person to abuse the incapacitated adult. 

12 



CHAPTER 3 SELF TEST 
 

1. True or false: A guardian or conservator can be employed by the elderly care 
home in which the protected person lives. 
 

2. True or false: You are accused of not caring properly for the protected person 
and an interested party brings an action in court to remove you and appoint 
another. You can use funds belonging to the protected person to defend 
yourself in court. 
 

3. True or false: You are in need of cash and want to borrow money from the 
protected person just until your next pay. You can do the same since it is a 
small amount and for a short period of time. 
 

4. True or false: The protected person has little money. You are willing to loan the 
protected person a sum of money needed at an interest rate below what the 
local bank would charge. You can make this loan to the protected person. 
 

5. True or false: The protected person has little money. You are willing to loan the 
protected person a sum of money, interest free, in order to pay bills that may 
result in loss of property if not paid, until the protected person can pay you 
back. You can do the same without violating the law. 
 

6. True or false: The protected person has little money. You are willing to gift the 
protected person the sum of money needed. You can make this gift to the 
protected person. 
 

7. True or false: The protected person has little money. There is not enough 
money to pay for the bills of the protected person. As the conservator or 
guardian you must pay the bills of the protected person from your own funds. 
 

8. True or false: December 31 is a few days away. You have not filed your 
guardian report or conservator accounting for this year. You don’t feel you will 
have time to do so before January of the next year. You can wait on completing 
and filing the same past the December 31 deadline.  
 

9. True or false: Criminal charges are brought against you for embezzling the 
protected person’s money. You can sell property of the protected person to 
hire an attorney in the criminal case. 
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10. True or false: You will be reported for investigation of elder abuse by parties, 
attorneys and mental hygiene commissioners if there are any factual 
circumstances or evidence which support such allegations. 

See pages 50–52 in Chapter 7 of this manual for the answers. 

14 



CHAPTER 4 
 
 
 

DUTIES OF A GUARDIAN 
 

DUTIES OF A GUARDIAN 

Decision‐making is the grave and fundamental responsibility of a guardian.  Your 
obligation  to  the  protected  person  is  to  exercise  care  and  diligence  when 
making decisions on his or her behalf. 
 

Decisions  should  be  made  in  a  manner  that  enables  the  protected  person  to 
maximize  independence  and  self‐reliance.    You  will  face  challenges  and 
responsibilities in caring for a protected person, but your role as a guardian can be 
enhanced by a thorough understanding of your duties. 

CARING FOR THE PROTECTED PERSON 

As a guardian, you are responsible for making decisions and providing for the protected person's 
care and well‐being.   You must decide where and how  the person will  reside, and make  sure 
that he or she obtains the necessary health care and healing treatment. 

CONTACT WITH THE PROTECTED PERSON 

You  must  maintain  sufficient  contact  with  the  protected  person  to  know  of  his  or  her 
capabilities, limitations, needs and opportunities.  The contact cannot be any less than one visit 
every 6 months, and in most circumstances, these visits should be more frequent. 

CONSIDER THE PROTECTED PERSON IN DECISIONS 

While  exercising  your  duties  to  the  protected  person,  you  must  adhere  to  the  following 
important considerations: 

 Exercise your authority only to the extent necessary because of the protected person's 
limitations 

 Whenever feasible, encourage the protected person to: 
 

o Participate in decision‐making  
o Act on his or her own behalf  
o Develop or regain the capacity to manage his or her personal affairs  

 
 Consider  the  express  desires  and  personal  values  of  the  protected  person when  you 

make decisions on his or her behalf 
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 Act  in the protected person's best  interest and exercise reasonable care, diligence and 
prudence  

WHAT ACTIONS REQUIRE PRIOR COURT APPROVAL? 

It  is also  important  to note  that you must obtain prior court authorization  for certain actions 
related to the protected person, such as:  

 A change in the protected person's residence to another state 
 Termination of his or her parental rights 
 Change in marital status 
 Deviation  from  the  protected  person's  living  will  or  medical  power  of  attorney  or 

durable power of attorney  

LIABILITY / FIDUCIARY DUTY 

You cannot be held liable for acts of the protected person unless you are found to be personally 
negligent.   However, you do have a duty to  the protected person and may be held personally 
liable for a breach of that duty. 

Fiduciary  duty:  because  you  are  serving  as  a  guardian,  your  actions  must  merit  trust  and 
confidence.   Therefore, you must avoid conflicts of  interest and demonstrate a high degree of 
loyalty to the protected person's best interests. 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

All guardians are required to file periodic reports with the circuit clerk of the county in which the 
appointment  is made, as well as with a  fiduciary commissioner or other person  to whom  the 
court has referred review of the guardian reports. 

You must file your first guardian report within 6 months of your appointment. Your reports will 
be viewed at  least semi‐annually by  the  fiduciary commissioner or other person  to whom  the 
court  refers  the  reports, or by a mental hygiene commissioner.    If  there are any questions or 
discrepancies, you may be called back to court to explain or provide documentation. 

Yearly Reporting 

After the first filed report within 6 months of your appointment, you must file a 
guardian  report by December 31st of each year  thereafter. Additional  reports 
may  also  be  required  by  the  court,  and  are  required  should  you  resign,  be 
removed from the office or if the guardianship is terminated. 
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What Do I Report?

Your guardian's reports must include the following:

• A description of the current mental, physical and social condition of the protected

person
• A description of the protected person's living arrangements during the period covered

by the report
• The medical, educational, vocational and other professional services provided to the

protected person, and your opinion as to the adequacy of the care provided to the

protected person
• A summary of your visits with the protected person and your activities on his or her

behalf

• A statement of whether you agree with the current treatment or habilitation plan

• Your recommendation as to the need for continued guardianship and any changes you
may recommend in the scope of the guardianship.

• Any other information that you consider to be useful or that is requested by the court
• The compensation you requested and the reasonable and necessary expenses you

incurred

• Your verification and signature stating that all of the information contained in the report

is true and correct to the best of your knowledge

You should keep careful records of your activities as a guardian, including the time you spend

with the protected person and any receipts for expenses.

You can find a cooy of th~_guardian report you must use, complete and file at
COl.l.('+SWV. C5V

http://www.stste.vJ.lbl~r ..\I§c.a. the public Web site of the West Virginia Supreme Court of

Appeals, or you can obtain a copy from the clerk of the circuit court.
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CHAPTER 4 SELF TEST 

1. True or false: As a appointed guardian you can “just make the decisions” for 
the protected person. 

2. What is the minimum number of visits you must make with the protected 
person every 6 months? 

A. Two  
B. One  
C. Six 

3. True or false: The minimum number of visits allowed by law every 6 months 
may not be enough to fulfill your guardian duties. 

4. The protected person wants you to listen to him or her about what he or she 
eats, where he or she lives, and how much cooking her or she can do. Are you 
obliged to do so? 

A. Yes, the law requires you to consider the desires of the protected person when 
you make decisions on his or her behalf  

B. No, you are the guardian and are charged with making such decisions  
C. Yes, but you do not have to consider such desires when you make decisions on 

the protected person’s behalf 

5. You know that the protected person was very vocal throughout her life in not 
wanting to be placed in an elderly care home. Do you now have an obligation 
to consider the protected person’s former desires when deciding where the 
protected person should live? 

A. No, as a guardian you are now charged with making such decisions  
B. Yes, a guardian, to the extent known, must consider the express desires and 

personal values of the protected person when making decisions  
C. No, but it would be nice to do so 

6. The protected person lives in your home and you want to move your family to 
another state for an employment opportunity that you have. Can you do so? 

A. Yes, pack up and move  
B. No, protected persons cannot be moved out of state  
C. Yes, but only if you are able to first get the approval by the court for moving the 

protected person out of state 
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7. The protected person wanders into a neighbor’s yard and picks all the flowers 
in a very expensive exotic flower bed which the neighbor planted. The 
protected person has little or no funds to pay for the damages. The neighbor 
sues you as the guardian for the damages. Can you be held personally liable? 

A. Possibly, if the neighbor can prove that you were personally negligent in 
allowing the protected person to wander into his or her yard and cause such 
damage  

B. No, it is not your fault the flowers were pulled up by the protected person  
C. Yes, as a guardian you are responsible 

8. You must file your first guardian report within what period of time after being 
appointed guardian? 

A. 30 Days  
B. 3 Months  
C. 6 Months 

9. With whom must you file your guardian report? 

A. The fiduciary commissioner  
B. The circuit clerk and the fiduciary commissioner or other person to whom the 

court has referred the reports for review  
C. The circuit clerk only 

10. What is the deadline each year for filing your annual guardian reports? 

A. December 31  
B. June 30  
C. February 15 

See pages 52–53 in Chapter 7 of this manual for the answers. 
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CHAPTER 5 

 
 

DUTIES OF A CONSERVATOR 
 

DUTIES OF A CONSERVATOR 

The duties of a conservator focus on management of the financial affairs of a protected person.  
As  conservator,  you  will  be  responsible  for  the  protected  person's  assets  or  income,  for 
establishing a budget and paying bills or debts, or for managing and investing property.  You will 
also  be  required  to  report  to  the  court  about  the  status  of  the  estate,  assets,  receipts  and 
disbursements. 

1. Maintain separate financial records for the protected person. 

 Consider, do you need to set up a separate checking account for the protected 
person in which to make deposits and from which to draft checks to pay for bills 
of the protected person?  

2. Do NOT commingle funds with others.  

CONSERVATOR’S INVENTORY 

Within 60 days  following the entry of  the Order of Appointment, you must  file with  the court 
and  the  fiduciary  commissioner  or  other  person  to  which  the  accountings  are  referred  for 
review  an  inventory of  the protected person's  real  and personal estate which has  come  into 
your possession or knowledge. 

The inventory should list, with reasonable detail: 

 Each item of the estate  
 Its approximate fair market value 
 The type and amount of encumbrance to which it is subject  
 Any items the conservator intends to abandon  

The  inventory  should be amended or updated  if any additional  real or personal estate comes 
into your possession or knowledge.  After you present the inventory to the court, you must mail 
a copy of the inventory to the individuals and entities who received notice of the hearing for the 
appointment of a conservator. Failure to do so is a criminal offense. 
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Consider: 
 
A proper inventory of the estate of the protected person includes everything (real and personal 
property, known or possessed). To protect the protected person and yourself from false claims, 
make sure your  inventory  is detailed and accurate. You cannot rely upon only what  is  listed  in 
the  statement  of  financial  resources;  you  are  required  to make  your  own  inventory  of  the 
estate. 

RECOMMENDATION OF GOOD RECORD KEEPING 

In your file for the protected person, consider maintaining the following information: 

 A copy of all Orders, authorizations and directions of the court 
 Demographic identifying information on the protected person 
 Current address of the protected person 
 A copy of the inventory you file with the court 
 A copy of all accountings you file with the court 
 A record of any services provided the protected person by contract with others 
 A record of all changes in income or assets of the protected person 
 A record of significant contacts you have had with the protected person 
 A record of all activities and actions you have taken for or on behalf of the protected 

person  

SPENDING THE PROTECTED PERSON’S MONEY 

As  a  conservator,  you  are  responsible  for  applying  the  protected 
person's income and principal as needed for his or her support, care and 
health; as well as habilitation, education or therapeutic needs.  You also 
must apply the  income and principal as needed  for the support of any 
legal dependents who are unable to support themselves and are in need 
of  support.   You are not  required  to  seek prior  court authorization  to 

spend the protected person's income and principal for these purposes. 

CONSIDERATIONS WHEN MAKING FINANCIAL DECISIONS 

When  making  financial  distributions,  you  must  adhere  to  the  following  important 
considerations: 

 Exercise your authority only to the extent necessary because of the protected person's 
limitations 

 Whenever feasible, encourage the protected person to: 
 

o Participate in decision‐making  
o Act on his or her own behalf  
o Develop or  regain  the  capacity  to manage  the  estate  and his or her  financial 

affairs 
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 Consider  the  size  of  the  estate,  the  probable  duration  of  the  conservatorship,  the 
protected person's accustomed manner of living, other resources that are available, and 
recommendations of the guardian 

 Consider  the  express  desires  and  personal  values  of  the  protected  person when  you 
make decisions on his or her behalf 

 Act  in the protected person's best  interest and exercise reasonable care, diligence and 
prudence  

POWERS OF ATTORNEY 

Do not revoke or amend a durable power of attorney which has been executed by the protected 
person, unless you have prior approval of the court. 

MANAGEMENT POWERS AND DUTIES 

In managing  the  estate,  you must  act  as  a  fiduciary  and  serve  in  the  best  interests  of  the 
protected person. Unless otherwise provided by the court, you have the authority to: 

 Invest funds of the estate in accordance with a standard of prudent investing 
 Collect, hold and retain assets of the estate, and receive additions to the estate 
 Continue or participate in the operation of an unincorporated business  
 Deposit estate funds in a state or federally insured financial institution 
 Manage, control and sell the personal property of the estate  
 Perform a contract entered into by the protected person  
 Renew a lease entered into by a protected person as lessor/lessee  
 Borrow money  and  place,  renew  or  extend  an  encumbrance  upon  real  or  personal 

property 
 Abandon property when, in your opinion, it is valueless or of no benefit to the estate 
 Make repairs or alterations in buildings or other property and grant easements 
 Vote a security in person or by proxy 
 Sell or exercise stock rights, and pay sums chargeable or on account of securities  
 Hold a  security  in  the name of a nominee or  in other  form without disclosure of  the 

conservatorship 
 Insure  the  assets  of  the  estate  against  damage  or  loss,  and  insure  the  guardian  and 

conservator against liability with respect to third persons 
 Allow,  pay,  reject,  contest  or  settle  any  claim  by  or  against  the  estate  or  protected 

person 
 Pay taxes, assessments and other expenses incurred in the collection and administration 

of the estate 
 Pay  any  sum distributable  for  the benefit of  the protected person or his or her  legal 

dependent  
 Employ persons such as attorneys, accountants, investment advisors or agents; and act 

upon their recommendations 
 Maintain  life, health,  casualty  and  liability  insurance  for  the  benefit of  the protected 

person or legal dependents 
 Manage the estate following the termination of the conservatorship until its delivery to 

the protected person or his or her successors  
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 Execute and deliver instruments and take other actions that will accomplish or facilitate 
the exercise of the powers conferred by law and outlined above  

ABANDONING PROPERTY 

You must provide written notice to all persons named in the original petition to appoint as the 
protected person's nearest  relatives  if  you  intend  to  abandon  any property belonging  to  the 
protected person.   This notice must be given at  least 14 days prior  to any abandonment, and 
you cannot abandon anything sooner than 30 days after you have filed the initial inventory. 

WHAT REQUIRES COURT APPROVAL? 

Certain actions of a conservator may be authorized only upon petition to the circuit court.  This 
includes entering into a protective arrangement to disburse the estate of the protected person 
and terminate the conservatorship. 

Also allowable upon petition are a number of estate planning functions, such as: 

 Donation to a charity 
 Providing support for individuals who are not legal dependents  
 Amending or revoking trusts 
 Exercising options or  changing beneficiaries of  insurance policies or  retirement plans, 

etc.  

Sale Of Real Estate 

Conservators cannot sell real estate without approval of the court. 

Mortgage Of Real Estate 

Conservators cannot mortgage real estate without approval of the court. 

ACCOUNTING REQUIREMENTS 

All conservators are required to file periodic accountings with the circuit clerk of the county  in 
which  the  appointment was made  AND with  the  fiduciary  commissioner  or  other  person  to 
whom the court has referred review of the accountings. 

You must file your first accounting within 6 months of your being appointed. Your accountings 
will be viewed at  least semi‐annually by  the  fiduciary commissioner or other person  to whom 
the  court  refers  the  accountings,  or  by  a  mental  hygiene  commissioner.    If  there  are  any 
questions  or  discrepancies,  you  may  be  called  back  to  court  to  explain  or  provide  bank, 
investment or other records. 
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Yearly Accountings

After the first accounting, you must file an accounting every year, unless waived by

court order. Additional accountings may be required if ordered by the court. An
accounting is also required to be filed if you resign or are removed from office or if

the conservatorship is terminated.

You must file the annual accounting by December 31 of each year with the circuit clerk and with

the fiduciary commissioner or other person to whom the court has referred review of the

accountings.

What To Include In The Accounting

Your conservator's accounting must include the following:

• A listing of the receipts, disbursements and distributions from the estate under your

control during the period covered by the accounting

• A listing of assets and liabilities of the estate

• The services being provided to the protected person
• The significant actions you took during the reporting period
• Your recommendation as to the need for continued conservatorship and changes you

may recommend in the scope of the conservatorship
• Any other information that you consider to be useful or that is requested by the court
• The compensation you requested and the reasonable and necessary expenses you

incurred
• Your verification and signature stating that all of the information contained in the

accounting is true and correct to be best of your knowledge

You must keep careful records, including financial documents, the time you spend and any

receipts for expenses. You can be called before the court on your accountings. Make sure they

are accurate a.nd tlmely filed. You can find a copy of the accounting you must use at
c...o~<sl.l)vl~oV

http://www.sta ..II·.·.l::Isr- 'Ises. the public Web site of the West Virginia Supreme Court of

Appeals, or you can obtain a copy from the clerk of the circuit court.

ACTIONS REQUIRED OF THE FIDUCIARY COMMISSIONERS

The fiduciary commissioner to whom your accountings are referred must serve a copy of the

accountings you file on the protected person, and mail a copy to all persons given notice of the

original petition to appoint, as well as any other person or entity found to be interested in the

affairs of the protected person. These people and entities can file exceptions to or falsify the
accounting before the fiduciary commissioner.
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Waiver Of Accountings 

You may  petition  the  court  to  change  the  requirement  that  accountings  be  filed  or  to  seek 
permission  to  file  less  frequently  than  annually.    If  the  court  determines  that  the  expense 
involved or the burden placed upon you outweighs the benefit to the protected person, it may 
waive the requirement. 

  What The Court Considers For Waiver 

The court will consider the following: 

 Your relationship with the protected person 
 The value of the estate, income and other receipts within your control  
 The amount of your bond 
 The extent to which the estate has been deposited under an arrangement that 

requires a court Order for removal 
 The  extent  to  which  income  and  receipts  are  paid  directly  to  a  facility 

responsible for the care or custody of the protected person  
 The extent to which the income and receipts are from state or federal programs 

that require periodic accountings 
 Whether a guardian has been appointed, and  if  so, whether  the guardian has 

presented reports as required 

CONFLICTS OF INTEREST 

As a conservator, you must avoid conflicts of interest and demonstrate a high degree of loyalty 
to the protected person's best interests. 

Unless you have prior approval from the court, you may not: 

 Have  any  interest,  financial  or  otherwise,  directly  or  indirectly,  in  any  business 
transaction or activity with the conservatorship  

 Acquire any ownership or monetary interest adverse to the protected person or to the 
protected person's estate or assets 

 Purchase, lease or sell any property from or to the protected person or the estate  
 Borrow or  loan  funds  to  the protected person or  to  the estate, except  for  reasonable 

advances 
 Compromise or modify a debt owed by you to the protected person or the estate 
 Employ  anyone who  has  associated with  you  or was  employed  by  you  prior  to  your 

appointment as conservator 
 Lease or sell property or services from or to any entity in which you or your relative is an 

officer, director, shareholder or proprietor, or owns a significant financial interest  
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LIABILITY 

You have a duty to the protected person and may be held personally liable for a breach of that 
duty. This  is called a  fiduciary duty and means  that because you are serving as a conservator, 
your actions must merit trust and confidence. 

You  are  not  personally  liable  on  a  contract  entered  into  in  a  fiduciary  capacity  while 
administering the estate unless you fail to reveal your representative capacity or to identify the 
estate. By law, you are liable for any act of a nominee in connection with a security held in the 
name of a nominee without disclosure of the conservatorship to allow title to pass by delivery. 

You may be personally liable for obligations arising from control of the property or for wrongful 
acts committed  in  the course of administering  the estate  if you are personally negligent.   You 
are prohibited by law from making loans from the protected person to yourself or your spouse. 
Doing so may result  in personal  liability.   Embezzlement or concealment of funds can result  in 
both personal liability and criminal charges. 

Successor Liability 

If  you have  been  appointed  to  succeed  a  former  conservator  and  you  learn  that  the  former 
conservator breached a fiduciary duty to the protected person, you must take corrective action 
as failure to do so may result in your being held personally liable as well. 
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CHAPTER 5 SELF TEST 

1. True or false: A conservator can co‐mingle the protected person’s funds with 
others. 

2. You must file an inventory of the protected person’s estate within what time 
period after your appointment? 

A. 90 Days  
B. 120 Days  
C. 60 Days 

3. With whom must you file your inventory? 

A. The court  
B. The fiduciary commissioner  
C. The circuit clerk and the fiduciary commissioner or other person to whom the 

court has made referral 

4. After filing your inventory, more property is found that belongs to the 
protected person, what must you do, if anything? 

A. You must send out a notice that the property was found  
B. You must amend your inventory and file the amended inventory with the circuit 

clerk and the fiduciary commissioner or other person to which the accountings 
have been referred  

C. You do not need to take any action 

5. The protected person wants you to listen to him or her about what his or her 
money is spent on. Are you obliged to do so? 

A. Yes, the law requires you to consider the desires of the protected person when 
you make decisions on his or her behalf  

B. No, you are the conservator and are charged with make such decisions  
C. Yes, but you do not have to consider such desires when you make decisions on 

the protected person’s behalf 

6. You know that the protected person was very vocal throughout her life in not 
wanting to donate to a particular charity, but yearly donated to another 
charity. Do you now have an obligation to consider the protected person’s 
former desires when deciding whether to make a donation to the first charity? 

A. No, as a conservator you are now charged with making such decisions  
B. Yes, a conservator, to the extent know, must consider the express desires and 

personal values of the protected person when making decisions  
C. No, but it would be nice to do so 

27 



7. Can you continue to make the yearly donations to the charity identified in the 
prior question? 

A. Yes  
B. No  
C. Not without court approval 

8. True or false: Notice must be given to the protected person’s nearest relatives 
identified in the petition to appoint before you can abandon any property 
belonging to the protected person. 

9. You would like to mortgage the protected person’s home in order to have 
sufficient funds to have a new roof installed on the home. Can you do so? 

A. Not without prior approval of the court  
B. Yes because the money is being used to improve property of the protected 

person  
C. No you must sell the home 

10. Within what time frame must you file your first conservator accounting? 

A. Within one year of being appointed conservator  
B. Within 6 months of being appointed conservator  
C. Within 90 days of being appointed conservator 

See pages 53–55 in Chapter 7 of this manual for the answers. 
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CHAPTER 6 
 
 
 

FUTURE CHANGES, 
THE “WHAT IF” 

 

YOU MOVE FROM WV TO ANOTHER STATE 

If at any time during your appointment as a guardian or conservator you become a resident of 
another  state,  you must  file  at  the  circuit  clerk's  office  a  designation  of  an  agent who  does 
reside  in West  Virginia  to  accept  service  of  process.    By  law,  you  are  required  to  file  this 
designation  of  agent  promptly  following  your  change  of  residence  to  another  state.    Certain 
banks  engaging  in  trust  business  in West Virginia  are  exempt  from  this  requirement  as  they 
cannot be considered non‐residents, and should review the applicable  law  in West Virginia for 
more detail. 

TRANSFERRING JURISDICTION TO ANOTHER COURT 

There may be  circumstances  that arise after  your appointment as a guardian or  conservator, 
such as a change of your or the protected person's residence, where you may want to consider 
asking the court to transfer the guardianship and/or conservatorship case to another court in a 
different county or to a different state. 

To transfer a case out of state, specialized laws of West Virginia must be followed.  These laws, 
called the Uniform Adult Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Jurisdiction Act, can be found 
beginning with W.Va. Code Section 44C‐1‐1.  Consultation with an attorney is recommended. 

To transfer a case to another circuit court in a different county in West Virginia, you must file a 
request (called a motion) with the court currently handling the case and provide evidence to the 
court that the transfer would be in the best interests of the protected person.  The court is only 
allowed to transfer the jurisdiction of the case to another court if it appears to the court that the 
interests of  the protected person would be best served by  the  transfer.   A hearing will be set 
before the court and you will need to explain to the court under oath why the transfer is in the 
best interests of the protected person. 

If  transfer  is  allowed,  the  guardian  and/or  conservator must  report  to  the  court  assuming 
jurisdiction and any changes to the appointment will be made by that court. 
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RETURN OF MISSING PERSONS 

What if I am a guardian or conservator for a missing person and he or she reappears? 

A conservatorship terminates when a missing person  is  located. The court must, however, still 
prepare a termination order dismissing the case and discharging any bond, so you will need to 
bring the matter before the court for conclusion. 

For a guardianship, the matter must be brought back to the court  if guardianship  is no  longer 
necessary upon the reappearance of a missing person. 

For death of a missing person, see "What If The Protected Person Dies?" in this chapter. 

REASONS FOR REMOVAL 

Any interested person can ask the court to remove you for any of the following reasons: 

 
Guardian: 

 Neglecting  the  care  and 
custody  of  the  protected 
person or legal dependents 

 Failure to file reports  

 

 
Conservator: 

 Wasting or mismanaging the estate 

 Unreasonably withholding  distributions  or 
making  distributions  in  a  negligent  or 
reckless manner 

 Failure to file accountings  

 
Both: 

 Acting under an order entered by misrepresentation or mistake 

 Conviction of a crime reflecting upon fitness to perform 

 Having an  interest adverse to the faithful performance of your duties to the protected 
person 

 Failure to file bond as ordered 

 Avoiding service of process or notice 

 Failure to comply with court orders 

 Illness 
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 Incapacity or inability to perform duties 

 Abusing powers or failing to discharge duties 

 Not acting in the best interests of the protected person or of the estate  

WHAT IF THE PROTECTED PERSON IMPROVES AND NO LONGER NEEDS A GUARDIAN 
OR CONSERVATOR? 

Reasons to change or end the guardianship or conservatorship include: 

 The protected person no longer needs the assistance or protection of a guardian or 
conservator 

 The protection or assistance previously granted is either too much or too little, 
considering the current needs of the protected person  

 The protected person's understanding or capacity of the following has significantly 
changed: 

o To provide for his or her health, care or safety  

o To manage his or her estate and financial affairs  

 No suitable guardian or conservator can be secured who is willing to exercise the 
assigned duties 

 It is otherwise in the best interests of the protected person  

WHAT IF YOU CAN NO LONGER SERVE? 

There are a number of circumstances that warrant changing, modifying or ending YOUR status 
as a guardian or conservator. This can be accomplished by you or the protected person, or any 
other interested person, by filing a petition with the court. 

A petition form is available in the office of the circuit clerk. You must petition the court at least 
60  days  before  the  date  of  your  resignation.  The  court will  grant  you  permission  to  resign, 
except for good cause, and will appoint a suitable successor. 

Your appointment as a guardian or conservator can be terminated if: 

 It is so ordered by the court 
 You are granted permission by the court to resign 
 You are removed for any of the reasons mentioned above 
 The protected person dies  
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NOMINATING A SUCCESSOR 

You may be  able  to nominate  a  successor  guardian or  conservator  for  the  court  to  consider 
protecting the protected person should something happen to you and/or you have to resign. 

Good Practice:  
 
In both your will and in a separate writing, you can nominate a successor guardian or 
conservator. You must include a brief statement of the reason or reasons for the nomination. 
 

WHO IS QUALIFIED TO SERVE AS A GUARDIAN OR CONSERVATOR? 

Any adult may be appointed as a guardian or a conservator, or both, upon determination by the 
court.    The  court  determines  if  an  individual  is  capable  of  providing  an  active  and  suitable 
program  of  guardianship  or  conservatorship  for  the  protected  person,  and  requires  that  the 
individual is not employed or affiliated with any person that is providing substantial services or 
financial assistance to the protected person. 

In  the  event  that  a  family member,  friend or other qualified  individual  is not  available  to be 
appointed  by  the  court,  the  law  provides  for  other  agencies  or  entities  that  the  court  can 
designate to assume the responsibility. 

Alternatives:  

 Office of Adult Protected Services  
 Certain non‐profit corporations licensed by the state 
 County Sheriff 

It  is  important  for  any  guardian or  conservator  to  consider  the protected person's maximum 
self‐reliance and independence.  A protected person is entitled to have his or her needs met in 
the  least  restrictive manner  possible.    In  appointing  an  individual  to  serve  as  a  guardian  or 
conservator,  the  court will  consider  these  factors,  as well  as  the  suitability  of  the  proposed 
guardian or conservator and the limitations of the protected person. 

The court will select an individual or entity qualified to act in the best interest of the protected 
person and will consider such factors as:  

 Geographic location  
 Family or other relationship  
 Ability to carry out duties  
 Commitment to promoting the protected person's welfare  
 Any potential conflicts of interest 
 Recommendations of relatives 

 
 

32 



WHAT IF THE PROTECTED PERSON DIES? 

A guardianship or conservatorship terminates with the death of the protected person (see next 
section on funeral arrangements and autopsy). However, the guardian or conservator must file 
the certified death certificate of the protected person with the circuit clerk and must file a final 
guardian report and/or conservator accounting. 

In  the  case of a missing person, a certified death certificate must be produced or  the person 
must  be  presumed  dead  under  W.Va.  Code  §44‐9‐1,  et.  seq.  for  the  conservatorship  to 
terminate. 

FUNERAL ARRANGEMENTS AND AUTOPSY 

If  there  is  no  advance  directive  or  preneed  burial  or  cremation  contract,  the  guardian  has 
authority to make decisions regarding the body of the protected person for autopsy and funeral 
arrangements after  the protected person dies.    If  there  is no guardian, a conservator has  this 
authority. This authority continues until an executor, executrix, administrator or administratrix is 
appointed. 

WHO MUST YOU NOTIFY IF YOU BRING ANY MATTER BACK TO THE COURT? 

Unless  the  court excuses notice  for  good  cause  shown, notice of hearing must be personally 
served on the protected person and mailed, certified mail return receipt requested, to: 

 Appointed counsel or attorney of record 
 All those individuals listed in the original petition to appoint 
 Any facility responsible for care and custody of the protected person 
 The guardian or conservator, if not the person bringing the matter back to the court 
 Anyone else the court may order  

MISCELLANEOUS HELPFUL INFORMATION 

For general information about guardianship, conservatorship and alternative decision‐making: 

1. Read this training manual 

2. Complete  the online  training  tutorial  (No computer or  internet?   No problem.   At  the 
end of this Training Manual, find a  list of all the  libraries  in West Virginia that provide 
public internet access free of charge.) 

3. State law for guardians and conservators is contained in Chapter 44A, Articles 1‐5 of the 
West Virginia Code 

4. Contact the senior center in your county 

5. Contact the regional Area Agency on Aging that is nearest you 
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NOTE:  For the table below, please consider the following: 

* Provides nutrition (home‐delivered as well as congregate meals) 
** Provides most of the priority services to seniors including legal, social and others 
*** A  telecommunications  device  for  the  deaf  (TDD)  is  an  electronic  device  for  text 
communication  via  a  telephone  line,  used when  one  or more  of  the  parties  has  hearing  or 
speech difficulties. 
 

COUNTY SENIOR CENTERS 
Senior Center  Address  Phone  Fax  Email  Web Site 

Barbour County 
Senior Center, 
Inc. 

PO Box 146 
(101 Church St.) 
Philippi, WV 26416 

304‐457‐4545  304‐457‐4545 
bcsc@bcnetmail
.org 

http://www.bcs
cwv.org/ 

Berkeley Senior 
Services 

217 North High 
Street 
Martinsburg, WV 
25401 

304‐263‐8873  304‐263‐6598 
bssdir@berkeley
seniorservices.or
g 

http://www.ber
keleyseniorservi
ces.org/ 

Bi‐County 
Nutrition 
(Doddridge and 
Harrison *) 

416 ½ Ohio Avenue 
Nutterfort, WV 
26301 

304‐622‐4075  304‐622‐4675 
bicountyseniors
@yahoo.com 

N/A 

Boone County 
Community 
Organization 

PO Box 247 
(347 Kenmore Dr., 
Suite 1‐A) 
Madison, WV 25130 

304‐369‐6587 
304‐369‐0451 

304‐949‐3673 
bcco.jeaster@su
ddenlinkmail.co
m 

N/A 

Braxton County 
Senior Citizens 
Center, Inc. 

33 Senior Center 
Drive 
Sutton, WV 26601 

304‐765‐4090  304‐765‐4095 
dirbcscc@verizo
n.net 

N/A 

Brooke County 
Committee on 
Aging 

948 Main Street 
Follansbee, WV 
26037 

304‐527‐3410  304‐527‐4278 
brookejoy@aol.c
om 

N/A 

Cabell County 
Community 
Services 
Organization 

724 – 10th Avenue 
Huntington, WV 
25701 

304‐529‐4952  304‐525‐2061 
cccsoinc@cccso.
com 

http://www.ccc
so.com 

Calhoun County 
Committee on 
Aging, Inc. 

PO Box 434 
(#3 Market St.) 
Grantsville, WV 
26147 

304‐354‐7822  304‐354‐7017 
michaelritchie@
hotmail.com 

N/A 

Clay County 
Development 
Corp. ** 

PO Box 455 
(174 Main St.) 
Clay, WV 25043 

304‐587‐2468  304‐587‐2856 
claycountysenior
center@hotmail.
com 

N/A 

Doddridge 
County Senior 
Citizens, Inc. ** 

PO Box 432 
(403 Main Street) 
West Union, WV 
26456 

304‐873‐1769  304‐873‐1769 
dcsc1@verizon.
net 

N/A 

Fayette County 
Office 

PO Box 770 
(108 Lewis St.) 
Oak Hill, WV 25901 

304‐465‐8484  304‐465‐8607 
jszamiela@yaho
o.com 

N/A 
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COUNTY SENIOR CENTERS, CONTINUED 
Senior Center  Address  Phone  Fax  Email  Web Site 

Council of Senior 
Citizens of 
Gilmer County, 
Inc. 

720 North Lewis St. 
Glenville, WV 26351 

304‐462‐5761  304‐462‐8239  gcsc@rtol.net  N/A 

Grant County 
Commission on 
Aging 

111 Virginia Avenue 
Petersburg, WV 
26847 

304‐257‐1666  304‐257‐9145 
gccoafs@citlink.
net 

 
http://www.gra
ntcountycoa.co
m 
 

Greenbrier 
County 
Committee on 
Aging 

PO Box 556 
(1003) Greenbrier 
St.) 
Rupert, WV 25984 

304‐392‐5138  304‐392‐5969 
gcca@suddenlin
kmail.com 

N/A 

Hampshire 
County 
Committee on 
Aging 

PO Box 41 
(School St.&Birch 
Lane) 
Romney, WV 26757 

304‐822‐4097 
(TDD) *** 

304‐822‐7322 
aginginhamp@h
ardynet.com 

http://www.agi
nginhampshire.
us 

Committee for 
Hancock County 
Senior Citizens 
** 

PO Box 1284 
(647 Gas Valley 
Road) 
New Cumberland, 
WV 26047 

304‐564‐3801  304‐387‐2693 
emknabenshue
@hancocksrsvs.
org 

N/A 

Hardy County 
Committee on 
Aging 

PO Box 632 
(409 Spring Avenue) 
Moorefield, WV 
26836 

304‐530‐2256  304‐530‐6789 
hccoa1@hardyn
et.com 

N/A 

Harrison County 
Senior Citizens, 
Inc. ** 

500 West Main 
Street 
Clarksburg, WV 
26301 

304‐623‐6795  304‐623‐6798 
hcsc@clarksburg
,com 

http://members
.iolinc.net/senio
rcenter/ 

Jackson County 
Commission on 
Aging, Inc. 

PO Box 617 
(121 So. Court St.) 
Ripley, WV 25271 

304‐372‐2406  304‐372‐9243 
jccoawv@hotma
il.com 

http://www.jcc
oawv.org 

Jefferson County 
Council on Aging 
 

103 West 5th Street 
Ranson, WV 25438 

304‐725‐4044  304‐725‐9500 
jccoadirector@fr
ontiernet.net 

N/A 

Kanawha Valley 
Senior Services 
** 

2428 Kanawha 
Blvd., E. 
Charleston, WV 
25311 

304‐348‐0707  304‐348‐6432 
smcclanahan@k
vss.org 

http://www.kvs
s.org 

Lewis County 
Senior Citizens 
Center, Inc. 

171 West 2nd Street 
Weston, WV 25601 

304‐269‐5738  304‐269‐7329 
dinahlynnmills@
msn.com 

http://www.lcs
eniorcenter.org 

Lincoln County 
Opportunity Co, 
Inc. 

360 Main Street 
Hamlin, WV 25523 

304‐824‐3448  304‐824‐7662 
lcoc@zoominter
net.net 

http://www.linc
olncountyoppor
tunity.com 

 
PRIDE in Logan 
County, Inc. 
 

PO Box 1346 
(699 Stratton St.) 
Logan, WV 25601 

304‐752‐6868  304‐752‐1047 
vicky@prideinlo
gan.com 

N/A 
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COUNTY SENIOR CENTERS, CONTINUED 
Senior Center  Address  Phone  Fax  Email  Web Site 

Marion County 
Senior Citizens, 
Inc. 

105 Maplewood 
Drive 
Fairmont, WV 
26554 

304‐366‐8779  304‐366‐3186 
debbie@marion
seniors.org 

http://www.ma
rionseniors.org 

Marshall County 
Committee on 
Aging 

805 – 5th Street 
Moundsville, WV 
26041 

304‐845‐8200  304‐845‐8239 
jhoward@wvdsl.
net 

http://www.mc
seniorcenter.co
m 

Mason County 
Action Group, 
Inc. 

101 – 2nd Street 
Point Pleasant, WV 
25550 

304‐675‐2369  304‐675‐2069 
masonseniors@
aol.com 

http://www.ma
sonseniors.com 

 
McDowell 
County 
Commission on 
Aging 
 

725 Stewart St. 
Welch, WV 24801 

304‐436‐6588  304‐436‐2006 
mcoa@citlink.ne
t 

N/A 

Mercer 
Community 
Action of South 
Eastern WV 
{CASE}* 

307 Federal Street, 
Suite 323 
Bluefield, WV 
24701 

304‐425‐7111   
swolfe@casewv.
org 

http://www.cas
ewv.org 

Aging and 
Family Services 
of Mineral 
County, Inc. 

1 South Main Street 
Keyser, WV 26726 

304‐788‐5467  304‐788‐6363 
smallery@wvagi
ng.com 

http://www.wv
aging.com 
 
 

Mingo County – 
Coalfield 
Community 
Action 
Partnership, Inc. 

PO Box 1460 
(815 Alderson St.) 
Williamson, WV 
25661 

304‐235‐1701  304‐235‐1706 
tsalmons@coalfi
eldcap.org 

N/A 

 
Monongalia 
County – Senior  
Monongalians, 
Inc. 
 

 
PO Box 653 
(5000 Greenbag 
Rd., Mountaineer 
Mall 
Morgantown, WV 
26507 
 

304‐296‐9812  304‐296‐3917 
brobinson@seni
ormons.org 

http://www.sen
iormons.org 

Monroe County 
Council on Aging 

PO Box 149 
(Route 219) 
Lindside, WV 24951 

304‐753‐4384  304‐753‐9886 
mccoa24951@y
ahoo.com 

N/A 

Senior Life 
Services of 
Morgan County 

187 South Green 
Street, Suite 5 
Berkeley Springs, 
WV 25411 

304‐258‐3096  304‐258‐3190 
slsmc1@hotmail
.com 

http://www.sls
mc.org 

Nicholas 
Community 
Action 
Partnership, Inc. 
 

1205 Broad Street 
Summersville, WV 
26651 

304‐872‐1162  304‐872‐5796 
djarroll@hotmai
l.com 

N/A 
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COUNTY SENIOR CENTERS, CONTINUED 
Senior Center  Address  Phone  Fax  Email  Web Site 

Ohio County – 
Family Services 
– Upper Ohio 
Valley (* 
Marshall and 
Wetzel) 

51 – 11th Street 
Wheeling, WV 
26003 

304‐232‐6730  304‐233‐7237 
lwineman@ovrh
.org 

http://www.fa
milyserviceuov.
org 

Pendleton 
Senior and 
Family Services, 
Inc. 

PO Box 9 
(231 Mill Road) 
Franklin, WV 26807 

304‐358‐2421  304‐358‐2422 
pendletonsenior
center@verizon.
net 

N/A 

Pleasants 
County Senior 
Citizens Center 
** 

209 – 2nd Street 
St. Marys, WV 
26170 

304‐684‐9243  304‐684‐9382 
pcscmt@frontier
net.net 

N/A 

Pleasants Senior 
Nutrition * 

PO Box 576 
(219 – 2nd St.) 
St. Marys, WV 
26170 

304‐684‐9319  304‐684‐9319 
seniornutrition
@creeds.net 

N/A 

Pocahontas 
County Senior 
Programs 

321 – 3rd Avenue 
Marlinton, WV 
24954 

304‐799‐6337  304‐799‐4972 
pocahontassenio
rs@hotmail.com 

N/A 

Preston County 
Senior Citizens, 
Inc. 

PO Box 10 
(421 ½ E. Main St.) 
Kingwood, WV 
26537 

304‐239‐0464  304‐329‐2584 
prestonseniors
@atlanticbb.net 

N/A 

Putnam Aging 
Program, Inc. (* 
Clay, Fayette 
and Kanawha 

694 Winfield Road 
St. Albans, WV 
25177 

304‐755‐2385  304‐755‐2389 
budbeaver@veri
zon.net 

N/A 

Raleigh County 
Commission on 
Aging 

1614 S. Kanawha St. 
Beckley, WV 25801 

304‐255‐1397  304‐252‐9360 
rccoa@raleighse
niors.org 

http://www.ral
eighseniors.org 

The Committee 
on Aging for 
Randolph 
County, Inc. 

PO Box 727 
(5th St.&Railroad 
Ave.) 
Elkins, WV 26241 

304‐636‐4747  304‐637‐4991 

 
 
randolphcountys
eniorcenter@ya
hoo.com 
 
 

N/A 

Ritchie County 
Integrated 
Family Services 

PO Box 195 
(S. Court Street and 
Edgeview Lane) 
Harrisville, WV 
26362 

304‐643‐4941  304‐643‐4936 
rcseniors@zoom
internet.net 

N/A 

Roane County 
Committee on 
Aging, Inc. 

811 Madison 
Avenue 
Spencer, WV 25276 

304‐927‐1997  304‐927‐2273 
cricks@rccoawv.
org 

http://www.rcc
oawv.org 

Summers 
County Council 
on Aging 

120 – 2nd Avenue 
Hinton, WV 25951 

304‐466‐4019  304‐466‐1890 
sccoalg@sudden
linkmail.com 

http://www.su
mmerseniors.co
m 
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COUNTY SENIOR CENTERS, CONTINUED 
Senior Center  Address  Phone  Fax  Email  Web Site 

Taylor County 
Senior Citizens, 
Inc. 

Route 2 Box 514 
(US Rt. 119&US Rt. 
250) 

304‐265‐4555  304‐265‐6083 
taylorcscfm@aol
.com 

N/A 

Tucker County 
Senior Citizens, 
Inc. 

206 – 3rd Street 
Parsons, WV 26287 

304‐478‐2423  304‐487‐4828 

tcsc@frontierne
t.net ; 
rdnestor@hotm
ail.com 

N/A 

Council of Senior 
Tyler Countians, 
Inc. 

PO Box 68 
(504) Cherry St.) 
Middlebourne, WV 
26149 

304‐758‐4919  304‐758‐4680 
amy@cstcwv.or
g 

N/A 

Upshur County 
Senior Citizens 
Opportunity 
Center, Inc. 

28 North Kanawha 
Street 
Buckhannon, WV 
26201 

304‐472‐0528  304‐472‐6424 
aoldaker@upwv
sc.org 

http://www.up
wvsc.org 

Wayne County 
Senior Center 

440 Cleveland St. 
(PO Box 276) 
Wayne, WV 25570 

304‐272‐6060  304‐272‐6068  N/A 
http://www.wc
cso.org 

Webster County 
Commission of 
Senior Citizens 

148 Court Square 
Webster Springs, 
WV 26288 

304‐847‐5252  304‐847‐7182 
webcosencitz@f
rontiernet.net 

N/A 

Wetzel County 
Committee on 
Aging 

145 Paducah Drive 
New Martinsville, 
WV 26155 

304‐455‐3220  304‐455‐0280 
wetzelccoa@sud
denlinkmail.com 

N/A 

Wirt County 
Committee on 
Aging, Inc. 

PO Box 370 
(Washington St.) 
Elizabeth, WV 
26143 

304‐275‐3158  304‐275‐4631 
wccoa@suddenl
inkmail.com 

N/A 

Wood County 
Senior Citizens 
Association, Inc. 

PO Box 1229 
(914 Market Street) 
Parkersburg, WV 
26101 

304‐485‐6748  304‐422‐8755 
mdennis@sudde
nlinkmail.com 

N/A 

Wyoming 
County Council 
on Aging 

PO Box 130 
(Old Itmann School 
Bldg., Rt. 10) 
Itmann, WV 24847 

304‐294‐8800  304‐294‐8803 
gibsonj@wccoa.
com 

N/A 
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AREA AGENCIES ON AGING 
REGION I – NORTHWESTERN AREA AGENCY ON 
AGING 
Address: 
Aging Services Department 
Bel‐O‐Mar Regional Council 
(105 Bridge Street Plaza) 
PO Box 2086 
Wheeling, WV 26003 
Phone:  304‐242‐1800 ; 1‐800‐924‐0088 
Fax:  304‐242‐2437 
Email:  lwilliams@belomar.org 
Web Site:  http://www.belomar.org 
Counties Served:  Brooke, Calhoun, Doddridge, 
Gilmer, Hancock, Harrison, Marion, Marshall, 
Monongalia, Ohio, Pleasants, Ritchie, Tyler, Wetzel, 
Wirt, Wood 

REGION II – WVSC – METRO AREA AGENCY ON 
AGING 
Address: 
500 Westmoreland Office Center, Suite 201‐A 
Dunbar, WV 25064 
Phone:  304‐720‐6858 ext. 12 
Fax:  304‐720‐6864 
Email:  reccojd@mail.wvsc.edu 
Web Site:  http://www.wvstateu.edu 
Counties Served:  Boone, Cabell, Jackson, 
Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, Putnam, 
Roane, Wayne 

REGION III – UPPER POTOMAC AREA AGENCY ON 
AGING 
Address: 
PO Box 869 
Petersburg, WV 26847 
Phone:  304‐257‐1221 ; 1‐877‐833‐5084 
Fax:  304‐257‐4958 
Email:  upaaa@regioneight.org 
Web Site:  http://www.upaaa.net/index.html 
Counties Served:  Barbour, Berkeley, Grant, 
Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, Lewis, Mineral, 
Morgan, Pendleton, Preston, Randolph, Taylor, 
Tucker, Upshur 

REGION IV – APPALACHIAN AREA AGENCY ON 
AGING 
Address: 
1460 Main Street, Box 2 
Princeton, WV 24740 
Phone:  304‐425‐1147 ; 1‐800‐473‐1207 
Email:  stanleyramona@citlink.net 
Web Site:  N/A 
Counties Served:  Braxton, Clay, Fayette, 
Greenbrier, McDowell, Mercer, Monroe, Nicholas, 
Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, Webster, Wyoming 

 
LIBRARIES OFFERING PUBLIC INTERNET ACCESS FREE OF CHARGE 
 

Barbour County 
 
  Belington      304‐823‐1026     512 Elliott Ave. Belington, WV 
  Philippi      304‐457‐3495     102 Main St. Philippi, WV 
 

Berkeley County 
 
  Musselman‐South Berkeley 
    Community    304‐229‐2220     126 Excellence Way Inwood, WV 
  Naylor Memorial    304‐924‐5063     105 Potato Hill St. Hedgesville, WV 
  North Berkeley    304‐274‐3443     2623 Nestle Quarry Road Falling Waters, WV 
  Martinsburg‐Berkeley  304‐267‐8933     101 West King Street Martinsburg, WV 
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Boone County 
 
  Barrett‐Wharton    304‐247‐6530     Pond Fork Road Barrett, WV 
  Boone‐Madison    304‐369‐7842     375 Main Street Madison, WV 
  Coal River Branch    304‐837‐8437     494 John Slack Circle Racine, WV 
  Whitesville      304‐854‐0196     38175 Coal River Road Whitesville, WV 

Braxton County 
 
  Burnsville      304‐853‐2338     235 Kanawha Street Burnsville, WV 
  Gassaway      304‐364‐8292     536 Elk Street Gassaway, WV 
  Sutton      304‐765‐7224     450 4th St. Sutton, WV 
 

Brooke County 
 
  Brooke County    304‐737‐1551     945 Main Street Wellsburg, WV 
  Follansbee      304‐527‐0860     844 Main Street Follansbee, WV 
 

Cabell County 
 
  Barboursville Branch   304‐736‐4621     728 Main St. Barboursville, WV 
  Cabell County    304‐528‐5700     455 9th Street Plaza Huntington, WV 
  Cox Landing Branch    304‐733‐3022     6363 Cox Lane Lesage, WV 
  Gallaher Village Branch  304‐528‐5696     368 Norway Avenue Huntington, WV 
  Guyandotte Branch    304‐528‐5698     203 Richmond Street Guyandotte, WV 
  Milton Branch    304‐743‐6711     1140 Smith St. Milton, WV 
  West Huntington Branch  304‐528‐5697     901 West 14th Street Huntington, WV 
    

Calhoun County 
 
  Calhoun County    304‐354‐6300     North Mill Street Grantsville, WV 
 

Clay County 
 
  Clay County     304‐587‐4254     614 Main Street Clay, WV 
 

Doddridge County 
 
  Center Point    304‐782‐2461     General Delivery  Center Point, WV 
  Doddridge County    304‐873‐1941     117 Court Street West Union, WV 
 

Fayette County 
 
  Ansted      304‐658‐5472     102 Oak St. Ansted, WV 
  Fayette County    304‐465‐0121     531 Summit Street Oak Hill, WV   
  Fayetteville      304‐574‐0070     200 W. Maple Avenue Fayetteville, WV 
  Gauley Bridge    304‐632‐2172     286 Railroad St. Gauley Bridge, WV 
  Meadow Bridge    304‐484‐7942     53 Klute St. Meadow Bridge, WV 
  Montgomery    304‐442‐5665     507 Ferry St. Montgomery, WV 
  Mt. Hope      304‐877‐3260     500 Main St. Mt. Hope, WV 
  Oak Hill      304‐469‐9890     611 Main St. Oak Hill, WV 
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Gilmer County 
 
  Gilmer County    304‐462‐5620     214 Walnut Street Glenville, WV 

 
Grant County 
 
  Allegheny Mt. Top    304‐693‐7504     Park St/Route 42 Mt. Storm, WV 
  Grant County    304‐257‐4122     18 Mt. View Street Petersburg, WV 
 

Greenbrier County 
 
  Alderson      304‐445‐7221     300 Walnut Ave. Alderson, WV 
  Greenbrier County    304‐647‐7568     152 Robert W. McCormick Dr. Lewisberg, WV   
  Rainelle      304‐438‐3008     312 7th Street Rainelle, WV 
  Ronceverte      304‐647‐7400     712 W. Main St. Ronceverte, WV 
  Rupert      304‐392‐6158     602 Nicholas Street Rupert, WV 
  White Sulphur Springs  304‐536‐1171     203 W. Main Street White Sulphur Springs, WV 
  

Hampshire County 
 
  Capon Bridge    304‐856‐3777     Route 50 Capon Bridge, WV 
  Hampshire County    304‐822‐3185     153 West Main Street Romney, WV 
 

Hancock County 
 
  Lynn Murray Memorial  304‐387‐1010     601 Railroad Street Chester, WV 
  Mary H Weir    304‐797‐8510     3442 Main Street Weirton, WV 
  Swaney Memorial    304‐564‐3471     100 Court Street New Cumberland, WV 
 

Hardy County 
 
  East Hardy Branch    304‐897‐5544     P.O. Box 98 Baker, WV 
  Hardy County    304‐538‐6560     102 Main St. Moorefield, WV 
 

Harrison County 
 
  Bridgeport      304‐842‐8248     1200 Johnson Avenue Bridgeport, WV 
  Clarskburg‐Harrison    304‐627‐2236     404 W. Pike Street Clarksburg, WV   
  Lowe      304‐592‐1700     40 Bridge St. Shinnston, WV 
  Nutter Fort      304‐622‐7563     1300 Buckhannon Pike Nutter Fort, WV 
  Southern Area    304‐745‐4865     Main Street Lost Creek, WV 
 

Jackson County 
 
  Jackson County    304‐372‐5343     208 N. Church St. Ripley, WV 
  Ravenswood Branch    304‐273‐5343     323 Virginia St. Ravenswood, WV 
 

Jefferson County 
 
  Bolivar‐Harpers Ferry  304‐535‐2301     600 Polk Street Harpers Ferry, WV 
  Shepherdstown    304‐876‐2783     German & King Sts Shepherdstown, WV 
  South Jefferson    304‐725‐6227     10 Shirley Road Summit Point, WV 
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Kanawha County 
 
  Clendenin Branch    304‐548‐6370     1 Cardinal St. Clendenin, WV 
  Cross Lanes      304‐776‐5999     5449 Big Tyler Rd. Charleston, WV 
  Elk Valley Branch    304‐965‐3636     4636 Pennsylvania Ave. Big Chimney, WV 
  Glasgow Branch    304‐595‐3131     129 4th Avenue Glasgow, WV 
  Kanawha County    304‐343‐4646     123 Capitol Street Charleston, WV 
  Marmet Branch    304‐949‐6628     9393 Oregon Avenue Marmet, WV 
  Nitro      304‐755‐4432     1700 Park Avenue Nitro, WV 
  Riverside      304‐949‐2400     1 Warrior Way, Suite 104 Belle, WV 
  Sissonville Branch    304‐984‐2244     1 Tinney Lane Charleston, WV 
  South Charleston    304‐744‐6561     312 4th Avenue South Charleston, WV 
  St. Albans  Branch    304‐722‐4244     602 4th Street St. Albans, WV 
 

Lewis County 
 
  Louis Bennett    304‐269‐5151     148 Court Ave Weston, WV 
 

Lincoln County 
 
  Alum Creek      304‐756‐9211     Route 214 Midway Road Alum Creek, WV 
  Branchland      304‐778‐7315     4 Mile Road at State Route 10 Branchland, WV 
  Hamlin‐Lincoln County  304‐824‐5481     7999 Lynn Avenue Hamlin, WV 
 

Logan County 
 
  Buffalo Creek Memorial  304‐583‐7887     511 E. McDonald Ave. Man, WV 
  Chapmanville    304‐855‐3405     299 Vance Street Chapmanville, WV 
  Logan Area      304‐752‐6652     16 Wildcat Way Logan, WV 
 

Marion County 
 
  Fairview      304‐449‐1021     407 Main St. Fairview, WV 
  Mannington     304‐986‐2803     109 Clarksburg St. Mannington, WV 
  Marion County    304‐366‐1210     321 Monroe St. Fairmont, WV 
 

Marshall County 
 
  Benwood‐McMechen  304‐232‐9720     201 Marshall St. McMechen, WV 
  Cameron      304‐686‐2140     Benedum Building 44 Main St. Cameron, WV 
  Moundsville‐Marshall 
    County      304‐845‐6911     700 Fifth Street Moundsville, WV 
 

Mason County 
 
  Hannan      304‐743‐6200     6760 Ashton Upland Rd. Ashton, WV 
  Mason City      304‐773‐5580     8 Brown St. Mason, WV 
  Mason County    304‐675‐0894     508 Viand Street Point Pleasant, WV 
  New Haven      304‐882‐3252     106 Main St. New Haven, WV 
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McDowell County 
 
  Bradshaw      304‐967‐5140     Roosevelt St. Bradshaw, WV 
  Iaeger      304‐938‐3825     West Virginia Ave. Iaeger, WV 
  McDowell      304‐436‐3070     90 Howard St. Welch, WV 
  Northfork      304‐862‐4541     24 Fieburch Ave. Northfork, WV 
  War      304‐875‐4622     Berwind Lake Road War, WV 
 

Mercer County 
 
  Craft Memorial    304‐325‐3943     600 Commerce St. Bluefield, WV 
  Princeton      304‐487‐5045     205 Center Street Princeton, WV 
 

Mineral County 
 
  Burlington      304‐289‐3690     Creek Road Burlington, WV 
  Fort Ashby      304‐298‐4493     Lincoln St. Fort Ashby, WV 
  Keyser‐Mineral County  304‐788‐3222     105 N. Main Street Keyser, WV 
  Piedmont      304‐355‐2757     1 Childs Avenue Piedmont, WV 
 

Mingo County 
 
  Gilbert      304‐664‐8886     Route 52 Middle School Drive Gilbert, WV 
  Kermit      304‐393‐4553     103 Main St. (Behind City Hall) Kermit, WV 
  Matewan      304‐426‐6306     First Ave. Matewan, WV 
  Mingo County    304‐475‐2749     Helena Ave. Delbarton, WV 
  Williamson      304‐235‐6029     101 Logan Street Williamson, WV 
 

Monongalia County 
 
  Cheat Area      304‐594‐1020     121 Crosby Rd. Morgantown, WV 
  Clay Battelle    304‐432‐8531     6059 Mason Dixon Highway Blacksville, WV 
  Clinton District    304‐291‐0703     2005 Grafton Rd. Morgantown, WV 
  Morgantown    304‐291‐7425     373 Spruce St. Morgantown, WV 
 

Monroe County 
 
  Monroe County    304‐772‐3038     103 South Street Union, WV 
  Peterstown      304‐753‐9568     23 College Avenue Peterstown, WV 
 

Morehouse County 
 
  Dunbar Branch    304‐766‐7161     301 12 St. Mall Dunbar, WV 
 

Morgan County 
 
  Morgan County    304‐258‐3350     105 Congress St. Berkeley Springs, WV 
  Paw Paw      304‐947‐7013     250 Moser Avenue Paw Paw, WV 
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Nicholas County 
 
  Craigsville      304‐742‐3532     63 Library Lane Craigsville, WV 
  Richwood      304‐846‐6099     8 White Ave. Richwood, WV 
  Summersville    304‐872‐0844     6201 Webster Road Summersville, WV 
 

Ohio County 
 
  Ohio County    304‐232‐0244     52 16th St. Wheeling, WV 
 

Pendleton County 
 
  Pendleton County    304‐358‐7038     504 N. Main Street Franklin, WV 
 

Pleasants County 
 
  Pleasants County    304‐684‐7494     101 Lafayette St. St. Marys, WV 
 

Pocahontas County 
 
  Durbin      304‐456‐3142     Route 250 Durbin, WV 
  Green Bank      304‐456‐4507     Route 28 Green Bank, WV 
  Hillsboro      304‐653‐4936     School St. Hillsboro, WV 
  McClintic      304‐799‐6000     500 Eighth Street Marlinton, WV 
 

Preston County 
 
  Kingwood      304‐329‐1499     205 West Main St. Kingwood, WV 
  Terra Alta      304‐789‐2724     701b East State Avenue Terra Alta, WV 
 

Putnam County 
 
  Buffalo Branch    304‐937‐3538     3530 Buffalo Road Buffalo, WV 
  Eleanor Branch    304‐586‐4295     203 Eleanor Circle Eleanor, WV 
  Hurricane Branch    304‐562‐6711     410 Midland Trail Hurricane, WV 
  Poca Branch     304‐755‐3241     Main St. Poca, WV 
  Putnam County    304‐757‐7308     4219 State Rt. 34 Hurricane, WV 
 

Raleigh County 
 
  Marsh Fork      304‐854‐2677     9802 Coal River Road Naoma, WV 
  Raleigh County    304‐255‐0511     221 N. Kanawha Street Beckley, WV  
  Shady Spring District   304‐763‐2681     440 Flat Top Road Shady Spring, WV 
  Sophia      304‐683‐5990     103 First St. Sophia, WV 
 

Randolph County 
 
  Elkins‐Randolph County  304‐637‐0287     416 Davis Ave. Elkins, WV 
  Helvetia      304‐924‐5063     Main Street Helvetia, WV 
  Pioneer Memorial    304‐227‐4788     Rt. 33 Harman, WV 
  Tygart Valley    304‐335‐6277     Rt. 219/250 Mill Creek, WV 
  Valley Head     304‐339‐6071     US Route 219 South Valley Head, WV 
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Ritchie County 
 
  Pennsboro Branch    304‐659‐2197     411 Main St. Pennsboro, WV 
  Ritchie County    304‐643‐2717     130 N. Court St. Harrisville, WV 
 

Roane County 
 
  Geary      304‐565‐4608     1 Library Lane Suite 1 Left Hand, WV 
  Roane County    304‐927‐1130     110 Parking Plaza Spencer, WV 
  Walton      304‐577‐6071     2 Cunningham Lane Walton, WV 
 

Summers County 
 
  Summers County    304‐466‐4490     201 Temple Street Hinton, WV 
 

Taylor County 
 
  Taylor County    304‐265‐6121     200 Beech St. Grafton, WV 
 

Tucker County 
 
  Five Rivers      304‐478‐3880     301 Walnut St. Parsons, WV 
  Mountaintop    304‐463‐4582     Grant St. Thomas, WV 
 

Tyler County 
 
  Sistersville      304‐652‐6701     518 Wells Street Sistersville, WV 
  Tyler County    304‐758‐4304     Main & Broad Streets Middlebourne, WV 
 

Upshur County 
 
  Charles W. Gibson    304‐472‐2339     105 East Main Street Buckhannon, WV 
  James Curry     304‐924‐6724     Route Box 135 French Creek, WV 
  Upshur County    304‐473‐4219     Rt. 6 Tennerton Rd. Buckhannon, WV 
 

Wayne County 
 
  Ceredo‐Kenova    304‐453‐2462     1200 Oak Street Kenova, WV 
  Fort Gay      304‐648‐5338     8608 R Broadway Fort Gay, WV 
  Wayne      304‐272‐3756     325 Keyster St. Wayne, WV 
 

Webster County 
 
  Cowen      304‐226‐5332     Mill Street Cowen, WV 
  Webster‐Addison    304‐847‐5764     331 S. Main Street Webster Springs, WV 
 

Wetzel County 
 
  Hundred      304‐775‐5161     Route 250 Hundred, WV 
  New Martinsville    304‐455‐4545     160 Washington Street New Martinsville, WV 
  Paden City      304‐337‐9333     114 S. 4th Avenue Paden City, WV 
  Pine Grove      304‐889‐3288     Main St. Pine Grove, WV 
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Wirt County 
 
  Dora B. Woodyward 
    Memorial    304‐275‐4295     340 Mulberry St. Elizabeth, WV 
 

Wood County 
 
  Parkersburg & Wood 
    County      304‐420‐4587     3100 Emerson Ave. Parkersburg, WV 
  South Parkersburg Branch  304‐428‐7041     1713 Blizzard Drive Parkersburg, WV 
  Vienna      304‐295‐7771     2300 River Rd. Vienna, WV 
  Waverly      304‐464‐5668     Rt. 1, Box 287 Waverly, WV 
  Williamstown    304‐375‐6052     201 W. 5th St. Williamstown, WV 
 

Wyoming County 
 
  Hanover      304‐664‐5580     Route 52 Hanover, WV 
  Mullens Area    304‐294‐6687     102 Fourth St. Mullens, WV 
  Oceana      304‐682‐6784     Cooke Parkway & Maple Ave. Oceana, WV 
  Pineville      304‐732‐6228     Castle Rock Avenue Pineville, WV 
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CHAPTER 6 SELF TEST 
 

1. If you move from West Virginia after being appointed as a guardian or 
conservator, what action must you take? 

A. Nothing except take the protected person with you  
B. You are required to resign your position  
C. You must file a designation of an agent who does reside in WV to accept service 

of process 

2. If you want to resign as a guardian or conservator how much notice must you 
give when filing your petition request to resign with the court? 

A. 3 Months  
B. 30 Days  
C. 60 Days 

3. True of false: You can nominate a successor guardian or conservator in your 
will. 

4. What must you file with the court if the protected person dies? 

A. A copy of the death certificate  
B. Only the certified death certificate  
C. Both the certified death certificate and the final guardian report and/or 

conservator accounting 

5. True or false: If a preneed burial or cremation contract exists for the protected 
person, the guardian has no authority to make decisions after the death of the 
protected person regarding funeral arrangements. 

6. True or false: If an autopsy is needed and there is no advance directive 
regarding the same, the guardian has authority to make decisions after the 
death of the protected person for autopsy. 

7. If there is no guardian, who has authority to make funeral arrangements and 
decisions for autopsy after the death of the protected person? 

A. The conservator, provided there is no advance directive or preneed burial or 
cremation contract  

B. The family, if any  
C. No one until an executor or administrator is appointed 

8. True or false: If it is in the best interests of the protected person a guardianship 
or conservatorship case can be transferred to another court in West Virginia. 
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9. True or false: If a protected person who is a missing person is found, your 
responsibilities as a guardian or conservator immediately end. 

10. True or false: Any interested person can ask the court to remove you from your 
position as guardian or conservator if grounds for removal exist or are alleged. 

See pages 55–56 in Chapter 7 of this manual for the answers. 
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CHAPTER 7 
 
 

SELF TEST ANSWERS 
 

 

CHAPTER 1 

1. After completing this education training, what must you file with the circuit 
clerk? 

A. An affidavit signed before a notary that you have completed the mandatory 
education  

2. If you are unable to obtain the type or amount of bond the court ordered you 
to obtain, what must you do? 

C.  Take the bond issue back to the court to ask for a change in the bond 

3. Where must you go to take your oath of office? 

A.  The office of the circuit clerk  

4. How many days do you have to mail a copy of your Order of Appointment and 
Statement of the right to appeal to the protected person and all individuals 
and entities that received notice of the original petition? 

C.  14 

5. Can the person who filed the original petition to appoint a guardian or 
conservator be reimbursed from the protected person’s estate for the cost of 
filing? 

B.  Yes, if funds are available to pay the costs in the protected person’s estate  

6. What expenses in addition to filing fees can be reimbursed to the person filing 
the petition? 

B. Filing fees for other papers, service of process costs, and cost of copies of court 
documents and transcripts  
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7. The attorney appointed to represent the protected person in the court action 
to appoint a guardian or conservator is required to be paid from the protected 
person’s estate unless the court makes what finding? 

B.  The estate is devoid of funds  

8. Who must approve the amount of the fee charged by the protected person’s 
attorney before it can be paid? 

C.  The court 

9. When is the attorney representing the protected person required to inform the 
court of his or her hourly rate? 

A.  At the onset of the guardianship or conservatorship case  

10. It is highly recommended that you do the following when starting your duties 
as a guardian or conservator: 

A. Get organized by creating and keeping up to date a file in which to keep copies 
of all matters concerning the protected person and your guardianship or 
conservatorship  

CHAPTER 2 

1. Which are guardian responsibilities? 

C.  All of the above 

2. Where does one look to determine the responsibilities of a limited guardian? 

B. One must look to the court order of appointment which specifies the 
responsibilities of the limited guardian 

3. When does a temporary guardian’s appointment expire? 

A. Within 6 months of the appointment unless extended by court order; one must 
check the court order  

4. What is included in the estate of a protected person? 

C.  All of the above 

5. Which are conservator responsibilities? 

C. All of the above 
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6. If one co‐guardian or co‐conservator does not do his or her duties as required 
by law, what must the other co‐guardian or co‐conservator do? 

C. Act to fulfill the duties and responsibilities as a guardian or conservator as 
required by law even if the other co‐guardian or co‐conservator does nothing  

7. How does a guardian or conservator get paid for their work? 

A. You ask the court to approve the frequency and amount of compensation that 
you want to be paid for your work  

8. If you believe a protected person’s durable power of attorney needs changed, 
how do you do this? 

C.  You must take the request to have the power of attorney changed back to the 
court for approval 

9. How often will the guardian reports or conservator accountings that you file be 
examined? 

A.  Semi‐annually  

10. Where can you find additional information and state law on guardianship and 
conservatorship law? 

C.  Both of the above 

CHAPTER 3 

1. True or false: A guardian or conservator can be employed by the elderly care 
home in which the protected person lives. 

False, a guardian or conservator is not permitted to be employed by or affiliated with 
any facility that is providing substantial services to the protected person. 

2. True or false: You are accused of not caring properly for the protected person 
and an interested party brings an action in court to remove you and appoint 
another. You can use funds belonging to the protected person to defend 
yourself in court. 
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False, no guardian or conservator may use funds out of the estate in defense of an 
allegation of wrongdoing on behalf of the protected person against the guardian or 
conservator. 

3. True or false: You are in need of cash and want to borrow money from the 
protected person just until your next pay. You can do the same since it is a 
small amount and for a short period of time. 

False, the law prohibits the making of loans from the accounts of the protected person 
to a conservator or his or her spouse. 

4. True or false: The protected person has little money. You are willing to loan the 
protected person a sum of money needed at an interest rate below what the 
local bank would charge. You can make this loan to the protected person. 

False, a person who has an interest as a creditor of a protected person may not be 
either a guardian or conservator. 

5. True or false: The protected person has little money. You are willing to loan the 
protected person a sum of money, interest free, in order to pay bills that may 
result in loss of property if not paid, until the protected person can pay you 
back. You can do the same without violating the law. 

True, but only because the loan was without interest and necessary for the protection of 
the estate. If either were not the case, such a loan would not be permitted. 

6. True or false: The protected person has little money. You are willing to gift the 
protected person the sum of money needed. You can make this gift to the 
protected person. 

True, there is no legal prohibition on giving gifts to the protected person. 

7. True or false: The protected person has little money. There is not enough 
money to pay for the bills of the protected person. As the conservator or 
guardian you must pay the bills of the protected person from your own funds. 

False, you are not required as a guardian or conservator to use your own assets to 
support the protected person. 

8. True or false: December 31 is a few days away. You have not filed your 
guardian report or conservator accounting for this year. You don’t feel you will 
have time to do so before January of the next year. You can wait on completing 
and filing the same past the December 31 deadline.  
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False, knowingly failing to file the required reports and accounting is a violation that can 
result in a fine between $100 and $500 per violation. 

9. True or false: Criminal charges are brought against you for embezzling the 
protected person’s money. You can sell property of the protected person to 
hire an attorney in the criminal case. 

False, you may not use assets of the protected person to defend yourself against 
allegations of wrongdoing. 

10. True or false: You will be reported for investigation of elder abuse by parties, 
attorneys and mental hygiene commissioners if there are any factual 
circumstances or evidence which support such allegations. 

True, parties, attorneys and mental hygiene commissioners are required by law to 
report alleged elder abuse violations. 

CHAPTER 4 

1. True or false: As a appointed guardian you can “just make the decisions” for 
the protected person. 

False, the law requires that you encourage, where feasible, the protected person to 
participate in decisions, and you are to exercise guardian authority only to the extent 
necessitated by the protected person’s limitations. 

2. What is the minimum number of visits you must make with the protected 
person every 6 months? 

B.  One  

3. True or false: The minimum number of visits allowed by law every 6 months 
may not be enough to fulfill your guardian duties. 

True, you must maintain sufficient contact with the protected person to know of the 
protected person’s capabilities, limitations, needs and opportunities. One visit every six 
months may not be sufficient to do so, in which case more contact is required. 

4. The protected person wants you to listen to him or her about what he or she 
eats, where he or she lives, and how much cooking her or she can do. Are you 
obliged to do so? 

A. Yes, the law requires you to consider the desires of the protected person when 
you make decisions on his or her behalf  
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5. You know that the protected person was very vocal throughout her life in not 
wanting to be placed in an elderly care home. Do you now have an obligation 
to consider the protected person’s former desires when deciding where the 
protected person should live? 

B.  Yes, a guardian, to the extent known, must consider the express desires and 
personal values of the protected person when making decisions  

6. The protected person lives in your home and you want to move your family to 
another state for an employment opportunity that you have. Can you do so? 

C.  Yes, but only if you are able to first get the approval by the court for moving the 
protected person out of state 

7. The protected person wanders into a neighbor’s yard and picks all the flowers 
in a very expensive exotic flower bed which the neighbor planted. The 
protected person has little or no funds to pay for the damages. The neighbor 
sues you as the guardian for the damages. Can you be held personally liable? 

A.  Possibly, if the neighbor can prove that you were personally negligent in allowing 
the protected person to wander into his or her yard and cause such damage  

8. You must file your first guardian report within what period of time after being 
appointed guardian? 

C.  6 Months 

9. With whom must you file your guardian report? 

B.  The circuit clerk and the fiduciary commissioner or other person to whom the 
court has referred the reports for review  

10. What is the deadline each year for filing your annual guardian reports? 

A.  December 31  

CHAPTER 5 

1. True or false: A conservator can co‐mingle the protected person’s funds with 
others. 

False, separate accounts must be kept. 
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2. You must file an inventory of the protected person’s estate within what time 
period after your appointment? 

C.  60 Days 

3. With whom must you file your inventory? 

C.  The circuit clerk and the fiduciary commissioner or other person to whom the 
court has made referral 

4. After filing your inventory, more property is found that belongs to the 
protected person, what must you do, if anything? 

B. You must amend your inventory and file the amended inventory with the circuit 
clerk and the fiduciary commissioner or other person to which the accountings 
have been referred  

5. The protected person wants you to listen to him or her about what his or her 
money is spent on. Are you obliged to do so? 

A. Yes, the law requires you to consider the desires of the protected person when 
you make decisions on his or her behalf  

6. You know that the protected person was very vocal throughout her life in not 
wanting to donate to a particular charity, but yearly donated to another 
charity. Do you now have an obligation to consider the protected person’s 
former desires when deciding whether to make a donation to the first charity? 

B. Yes, a conservator, to the extent know, must consider the express desires and 
personal values of the protected person when making decisions  

7. Can you continue to make the yearly donations to the charity identified in the 
prior question? 

C.  Not without court approval 

8. True or false: Notice must be given to the protected person’s nearest relatives 
identified in the petition to appoint before you can abandon any property 
belonging to the protected person. 

True. 
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9. You would like to mortgage the protected person’s home in order to have 
sufficient funds to have a new roof installed on the home. Can you do so? 

A.  Not without prior approval of the court  

10. Within what time frame must you file your first conservator accounting? 

B.  Within 6 months of being appointed conservator  

CHAPTER 6 

1. If you move from West Virginia after being appointed as a guardian or 
conservator, what action must you take? 

 C.  You must file a designation of an agent who does reside in WV to accept service 
of process 

2. If you want to resign as a guardian or conservator how much notice must you 
give when filing your petition request to resign with the court? 

C.  60 Days 

3. True of false: You can nominate a successor guardian or conservator in your 
will. 

True, this is a good idea in the event unexpected death happens to you when acting as 
guardian or conservator for another. 

4. What must you file with the court if the protected person dies? 

C.  Both the certified death certificate and the final guardian report and/or 
conservator accounting 

5. True or false: If a preneed burial or cremation contract exists for the protected 
person, the guardian has no authority to make decisions after the death of the 
protected person regarding funeral arrangements. 

True, the authority of the guardian to make these decisions extends after death only if 
no advance directive or preneed burial or cremation contract exists to handle the 
funeral arrangements. 

6. True or false: If an autopsy is needed and there is no advance directive 
regarding the same, the guardian has authority to make decisions after the 
death of the protected person for autopsy. 

True. 
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7. If there is no guardian, who has authority to make funeral arrangements and 
decisions for autopsy after the death of the protected person? 

A.  The conservator, provided there is no advance directive or preneed burial or 
cremation contract  

8. True or false: If it is in the best interests of the protected person a guardianship 
or conservatorship case can be transferred to another court in West Virginia. 

True, and you will need to bring the request back to the court to have this done. 

9. True or false: If a protected person who is a missing person is found, your 
responsibilities as a guardian or conservator immediately end. 

False, the court must still prepare a termination order dismissing the case, discharging 
any bond, and you must file your final guardian report or conservator’s accounting. 

10. True or false: Any interested person can ask the court to remove you from your 
position as guardian or conservator if grounds for removal exist or are alleged. 

True. 
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