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SYLLABUS

Pursuant to the provisions of West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1) (1999), a

claim seeking a refund of sales taxes is subject to a three-year statute of limitations when the

vendor to whom the sales tax was paid filed the sales tax return relative to the purchases at

issue.  When, however, the vendor fails to file the requisite sales tax return, the applicable

limitations period is two years from the date the purchaser paid the sales taxes. 



Mr. Palmer is the successor Tax Commissioner to the original petitioner, James H.1

Paige III.

While the circuit court did disallow a minor portion of Taxpayer’s claim for refund--2

those claims pertaining to purchases made between April 5, 1991, to May 15, 1991--the court
found that the remaining claims were timely filed.

Although the statute at issue in effect at the time of the relevant tax petitions was the3

1978 version, the amendments made to the statute in 1996--the current version of W.Va.
§ 11-10-14-(l)(1)--did not alter the provisions under consideration.  
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Stone, Judge:

Appellant Joseph M. Palmer, State Tax Commissioner of the State of West

Virginia (“Tax Commissioner”)  appeals from the December 16, 1998, order of the Circuit1

Court of Berkeley County, finding that Appellee John Houyoux (“Taxpayer”) had timely

filed a claim for a refund of sales taxes.   The Tax Commissioner asserts that the circuit court2

erred in concluding that the applicable statute of limitations for claiming a refund of sales

taxes pursuant to West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1) (1999)  is three years from the date3

the return is due to be filed by the vendor.  After fulling examining this issue of statutory

interpretation, we conclude that the circuit court did not err in making its ruling, and

accordingly, we affirm.

I. Factual and Procedural Background

While the parties agree that there are no factual disputes in need of resolution,

a brief recitation of the factual and procedural background of this matter is necessary to the



Taxpayer filed its refund request pursuant to the procedures set forth in West4

Virginia Code § 11-10-14(c).    

The basis for the refund request was Taxpayer’s belated discovery that he was5

exempt from paying sales tax since the purchases at issue were sales for resale.  See W. Va.
Code § 11-15-9(j) (1995).

By letter dated July 26, 1994, the Tax Department approved Taxpayer’s refund, in6

part, for the amount of $1,220.82, and disapproved the remaining $5,920.57 of the request.

See W.Va. Code § 11-10-14(d).7

The administrative law judge held that “pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-10-14(l)(1),8

a purchaser must file a claim for refund of consumers sales and service tax within two years
after its payment of the tax, and not thereafter.” 
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discussion of this case.  Taxpayer is involved in a business, Aerolease, which leases  aircraft

and repair parts.  On July 6, 1994, Taxpayer filed a claim for refund  with the State4

Department of Tax and Revenue (“Tax Department”) through which he sought refunds of

various sales taxes paid in the aggregate amount of $7, 141.39 plus interest for the periods

of April 5, 1991, to May 3, 1994.   The Tax Department disallowed the refund request with5

regard to those sales taxes paid prior to July 6, 1992,  based on its position that a two-year6

statute of limitations controlled under the provisions of West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1).

Taxpayer instituted an administrative appeal of the disallowed amount by filing a petition

for refund on September 22, 1994, with the Tax Department.   By administrative order7

entered on April 20, 1998, the Tax Commissioner upheld the Tax Department’s position that

the applicable limitations period under West Virginia Code § 11-10-14-(l)(1) was a two-year

period.   On or about May 28, 1998, Taxpayer sought relief from the administrative decision8

by appealing to the Circuit Court of Berkeley County.  



Although the Taxpayer’s claims for refund covered a period from April 1991 to May9

1994, the circuit court was only considering the claims that were disallowed by the Tax
Department--those claims pertaining to taxes paid prior to July 6, 1992.

West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1) is a general provision that applies, inter alia,10

to claims for refunds of not only sales taxes, but also estate taxes, franchise taxes, personal
income taxes, business and occupation taxes, use taxes, cigarette taxes, soft drink taxes, and

(continued...)
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Upon its review of the matter, the circuit court determined that the applicable

limitations period is a three-year period when the vendor has filed the required sales tax

return, and alternatively, a two-year period when the vendor fails to file the required sales

tax return.  Since the vendor did file the required sales tax returns for the purchases Taxpayer

made from June 1991 to April 1992,  the circuit court ruled that Taxpayer’s claim for refund9

was timely as the request fell within the applicable three-year limitations period.  With

regard to purchases Taxpayer made between April 5, 1991, to May 15, 1991, the lower court

determined that those claims were outside the three-year limitations period and were thus,

untimely filed.  Appellant Tax Commissioner seeks a reversal of the circuit court’s ruling,

arguing that a two-year statute of limitations applies under the facts of this case.        

 

II.  Discussion

At the center of this statutory dispute is the following language from West

Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1):10



(...continued)10

gasoline taxes.  See W. Va. Code § 11-10-3(a) (1999).
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(l) Limitation on claims for refund or credit.--(1) General rule.--
Whenever a taxpayer claims to be entitled to a refund or 
credit of any tax (or fee), additions to tax, penalties or interest
imposed by this article, or any article of this chapter, or of this
code, administered under this article, paid into the treasury of
this state, such taxpayer shall, except as provided in subsection
(d) of this section, file a claim for refund, or credit, within
three years after the due date of the return in respect of
which the tax (or fee) was imposed, determined by including
any authorized extension of time for filing the return, or within
two years from the date the tax, (or fee), was paid, whichever
of such periods expires the later, or if no return was filed by
the taxpayer, within two years from the time the tax (or fee)
was paid, and not thereafter.

Id. (emphasis supplied).  At issue, is the third appearance of the term “taxpayer” and its

respective meaning.  Tax Commissioner claims that the term in each of its three statutory

uses refers to the taxpayer who is seeking the refund.  While conceding that the first two

usages clearly refer to the taxpayer seeking the refund, Taxpayer claims that the third usage

of “taxpayer” signifies the vendor who is actually responsible for filing the sales tax return.

To support its position, Tax Commissioner looks almost exclusively to the

statutory language which states, “if no return was filed by the taxpayer” and provides for a

corresponding two-year limitations period in such instances.  Since Taxpayer did not file a

tax return relative to the sales taxes at issue, Tax Commissioner contends that the third



Since both the vendor and the purchaser have obligations to “pay” the sales tax, the11

vendor is typically labeled the statutory taxpayer, based on its obligation to collect the tax,
whereas the purchaser is designated the economic taxpayer because the purchaser bears the
actual burden of paying the tax.   

Although West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1) pertains to refunds of taxes other12

than sales taxes, the parties agree that the statutory interpretation under consideration is
confined to those instances where a sales tax refund is at issue.  See infra note 16.
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statutory use of the term “taxpayer” must refer to the taxpayer seeking the refund.   By

construing the phrase “if no return is filed” in this fashion, Tax Commissioner suggests that

you eliminate any need to examine the statutory language which precedes the third usage of

the term “taxpayer.”  Tax Commissioner argues that the circuit court’s employment of

alternate definitions for the term “taxpayer” renders the provision internally inconsistent and

results in a limitations period that varies depending on the actions of the vendor.  Tax

Commissioner advocates interpreting the term “taxpayer” in West Virginia Code § 11-10-

14(l)(1) as uniformly referring to the individual or corporate entity seeking the refund.

Under this approach, which permits consistency in application and eliminates reference to

the conduct of third parties, economic taxpayers,  such as Mr. Houyoux, would always be11

subject to a two-year statute of limitations since they are never responsible for filing sales

tax returns.   12

As further support for its position, Tax Commissioner cites High Power Energy

v. Paige, No. 92-AA-24 (1993), a Kanawha County Circuit Court decision in which the court

determined that “the applicable limitations period for refund of consumer sales and service



The circuit court determined additionally that the limitations period begins to run13

from the time the tax was paid. 

In actuality, the Tax Commissioner states that it has been applying a two-year statute14

of limitations to claims for refunds of sales taxes since at least 1978. 

Taxpayer observes that the term “taxpayer” is defined by the statutes pertaining to15

the imposition of the consumers sales tax as “any person liable for the tax imposed by this
article.”  W.Va. Code § 11-15-2(v) (Supp. 1999).  Although the purchaser is the original
party liable for the tax, West Virginia Code § 11-15-4 (1995), the vendor becomes personally
liable for the tax if it fails to collect the tax from the purchaser.  See W. Va. Code § 11-15-4a
(1995).  Thus, Taxpayer argues that the statutes, when read in pari materia, clearly allow
either the purchaser or the vendor to be considered the taxpayer since, dependent on the
applicable factual scenario, either entity can be held “liable” for the sales tax.     

6

tax is two years from the date the statute began to run.”   Since this Court did not grant the13

petition for appeal filed in that case, Tax Commissioner argues that High Power is persuasive

authority on this issue and we should accordingly defer to the Tax Department’s decision to

employ a two-year limitations period following the High Power ruling.   See Syl. Pt. 7,14

Lincoln County Bd. of Educ. v. Adkins, 188 W.Va. 430, 424 S.E.2d 775 (1992) (stating that

“‘[i]nterpretations of statutes by bodies charged with their administration are given great

weight unless clearly erroneous’”) (quoting Syl. Pt. 4, Security Nat’l Bank & Trust Co. v.

First W.Va. Bancorp, Inc., 166 W.Va. 775, 277 S.E.2d 613 (1981)).      

Maintaining that the circuit court reached the correct decision, Taxpayer argues

that the term “taxpayer” carries dual meanings under the statute.   The term refers to either15

the purchaser or vendor, depending on the term’s usage in reference to the terms which

accompany it in each of the three places that “taxpayer” is used in West Virginia Code § 11-



We acknowledge that the tax return in question in other cases applying West16

Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1) will not always be a return for which a party other than the
taxpayer seeking the refund has the responsibility for filing.  For example, if the refund
sought was for income taxes, then the third “taxpayer” reference would refer to the taxpayer
seeking the refund.  We cannot avoid or eliminate the fact that the term “taxpayer” has to be
defined in each case dependent on the nature of the tax and whose responsibility it is to file
the accompanying return.  Our discussion and holding in this case is, therefore, necessarily
limited to those instances, like the one under discussion, which involve sales taxes that are
paid to another party who has the responsibility for filing the respective tax returns. 

7

10-14(l)(1).  See Banner Printing Co. v. Bykota Corp., 182 W.Va. 488, 491, 388 S.E.2d 844,

847 (1989) (discussing doctrine of noscitur a sociis, which requires that a term’s meaning

be ascertained in reference to the “meaning of words or phrases with which the questioned

language is associated”).  Taxpayer agrees with the Tax Commissioner that the first two

statutory references are indisputably to the taxpayer who is seeking the  refund.  When you

examine the words accompanying the term “taxpayer” in its third usage,  however, Taxpayer

argues it is clear that the term refers, in this instance, to the vendor taxpayer who has the

responsibility for filing the subject sales tax return.    See W. Va. Code § 11-10-4(f) (1999).16

Only in the third instance is the term “taxpayer” used in reference to the filing of a return.

Since the vendor is the party obligated to file a sales tax return, Taxpayer argues that it

stands to reason that the third usage of “taxpayer” must connote the vendor and not the

taxpayer seeking the refund.

Conceding that his interpretation renders the limitations period malleable based

on facts outside the knowledge or control of the individual taxpayer, Taxpayer nonetheless



Taxpayer contends that the mere possibility that the economic taxpayer would be17

“penalized” by virtue of the vendor’s failure to file a sales tax return and consequent
reduction of the limitations period to two years is still preferential in comparison to Tax
Commissioner’s interpretation which imposes a so-called “penalty” in each and every case.
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insists that his interpretation is preferential to the one advanced by Tax Commissioner.17

Taxpayer posits that to view the statute as Tax Commissioner suggests would require a

wholesale disregard of portions of West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1).  This approach,

according to Taxpayer, is in conflict with this Court’s stated position of “interpret[ing]

statutes to give practical effect to all their clauses, if possible.”  Ye Olde Apothecary v.

McClellan, 163 W.Va. 19, 22, 253 S.E.2d 545, 547 (1979); accord Belt v. Cole, 172 W.Va.

383, 385, 305 S.E.2d 340, 342 (1983) (stating “[o]ur rules of statutory construction require

us to give meaning to all provisions in a statutory scheme, if at all possible”).  We stated this

same proposition more forcefully in Bullman v. D & R Lumber Co., 195 W.Va. 129, 464

S.E.2d 771 (1995), in recognizing that “courts are not at liberty to construe any statute so as

to deny effect to any part of its language[]” and “[i]ndeed, it is a cardinal rule of statutory

construction that significance and effect shall, if possible, be accorded to every word.”  Id.

at 133, 464 S.E.2d at 775.  By adopting his approach of viewing the term “taxpayer” as a

term that takes its meaning from those words around it, Taxpayer argues that meaning is

accorded to all parts of the statute, rather than just a portion of West Virginia Code § 11-10-

14(l)(1), and the statutory emasculation required by the Tax Commissioner’s approach is

thereby avoided.            



See supra note 16.18

See supra note 11.19
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We agree with Taxpayer that Tax Commissioner’s interpretation renders much

of the statutory language meaningless, as it applies to sales tax refunds.   In fact, Tax18

Commissioner’s suggestion that the third reference is necessarily to the economic taxpayer,19

based on the fact that the economic taxpayer will never have filed a sales tax return, clearly

begs the question of what is meant by the term “taxpayer.”  One can just as easily conclude,

as does Taxpayer, that since the vendor is the entity responsible for filing the sales tax return,

the reference to a return not having been filed is instead to the vendor as the statutory

“taxpayer” and not to the economic taxpayer.  On balance, this conclusion and the position

advocated by Taxpayer appears more logical.  Taxpayer’s interpretation permits each of the

three statutory uses of the term “taxpayer” to be applied based on the facts of a given refund

claim scenario.  As a general rule, the Legislature created a limitations period that is

determined in reference to the “due date of the return in respect of which the tax was

imposed.”  W.Va. Code § 11-10-14(l)(1).  That statutory period of limitations is three years.

As an alternative to using the due date of the return, and in clear anticipation of a filed return

but delinquent payment of the tax due, the Legislature provided for a two-year limitations

period “from the date the tax was paid.”  Id.  With its use of the phrase “whichever of such

periods expires the later,” in reference to the due date of the sales tax return compared to the

date the tax was paid, the Legislature clearly expressed a preference for a three-year period



We are not constrained to defer to the position adopted by the Tax Commissioner20

following the High Tower decision.  Because we determine that the Tax Commissioner’s
interpretation is not based on a permissible construction of the statute, we are not compelled
to give deference to the agency’s interpretation of West Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1).  See
City of South Charleston v. West Virginia Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 204 W.Va. 566, 514 S.E.2d
622 (1999).
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of repose provided the delineated statutory conditions are met.  When, however, the point

of reference that corresponds to the preferred three-year limitations period--the due date of

the return--is unavailable because the vendor has failed to file a return, the Legislature

determined that a two-year limitations period would control.

Principles of logic simply prevent this Court from concluding that the

Legislature would have initially provided for a longer limitations period (i.e. three years from

the return’s due date) and at the same time, created a statutory mechanism for reducing the

same limitations period in all instances, as Tax Commissioner advocates, to a shorter two-

year period based on when the tax payment was made.  Upon a full examination of the

statute and its possible applications, we conclude that, pursuant to the provisions of West

Virginia Code § 11-10-14(l)(1), a claim seeking a refund of sales taxes is subject to a three-

year statute of limitations when the vendor to whom the sales tax was paid filed the sales tax

return relative to the purchases at issue.  When, however, the vendor fails to file the requisite

sales tax return, the applicable limitations period is two years from the date the purchaser

paid the sales taxes.  20
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Based on the foregoing, the decision of the Circuit Court of Berkeley County

is hereby affirmed.

A f f i r m e d .

      


