West Virginia Judiciary

Board of Law Examiners

Bar Examination Application Instructions

The Uniform Bar Examination is administered in West Virginia on the last Tuesday and Wednesday of February and July of each year at the Charleston Coliseum and Convention Center.

EXAMINATION TIME FRAMES

February Examination July Examination

APPLICATION FEES

WV Application fee:

$500 for applicants who have never been admitted in any jurisdiction and for attorneys admitted less than one year in any other jurisdiction; or, $800 for attorneys admitted in any other jurisdiction for one year or more.

NCBE Report:

The National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) requires a fee to complete a required character and fitness background investigative report. The fee varies, but typically begins at $355. See NCBE’s website for their fee schedule.

Laptop Registration:

Applicants choosing to use their laptop computer for the essay portion of the exam must pay a fee of approximately $120 directly to the software provider.

MPRE: The Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam is a test separate from the UBE, with a separate set of administration fees.
Other:

A fee may be assessed for applicants transferring scores (MBE, MPRE) and requesting certificates of good standing, copies of required application supporting documents, and copies of applications previously filed in other jurisdictions. Travel expenses may be incurred for the bar examination administration, character interview, and for the admission ceremony.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

FIRST: Read and familiarize yourself with the Rules for Admission to the Practice of Law in West Virginia. These Rules govern all applications to practice law in West Virginia, and all applicants are charged with knowledge of the Rules’ requirements. Thoroughly review the FAQs Exam Applicants, the instructions on this page, and the National Conference of Bar Examiners instructions for answers to your questions regarding the application process.

If you are reapplying to sit for a West Virginia Bar Examination, carefully review the FAQs Exam Applicants – Reapplication for answers to your questions regarding the reapplication process.

SECOND: Go to www.ncbex.org/ea — the website of the National Conference of Bar Examiners — and complete the West Virginia-specific character and fitness application online. Applications which are handwritten or not completed online will be rejected. Print out one original copy of the completed NCBE application and confirm that a bar code appears at the bottom. The application must be dated no more than sixty (60) days prior to the date of submission to our jurisdiction and the NCBE. Make a copy of the completed application and all materials you send to the WVBLE/NCBE throughout the process to keep for your records.

THIRD: Follow the NCBE’s instructions for submitting the required supporting material to the NCBE with your payment. This payment is separate from and additional to payment to the WVBLE. We will accept NCBE supplemental reports only if the original NCBE report was completed no more than three (3) years prior to the date of your application to West Virginia.

FOURTH: Mail the following materials to the West Virginia Board of Law Examiners at:

WVBLE
City Center East, Suite 1200 B
4700 MacCorkle Ave., SE
Charleston, WV 25304

Do NOT include staples, post-it notes, and/or exhibit tabs with your application. Application materials are scanned upon receipt and using such items may cause your application to be torn or shredded during the scanning process. All materials must be submitted on paper measuring 8½” x 11”. Reproduction on both sides of the paper is permissible.

The following materials must be postmarked by the application deadline or your application will be rejected. If you fail to include these items you will not be given any grace period beyond the filing deadlines to correct the error:

FIFTH: If you require special accommodations (e.g. extra time, special chair, large type, etc.) please complete the Special Accommodations Form. Be sure to include all documentation requested in the form. Your request must be postmarked no later than December 1st preceding the February examination, and no later than May 1st preceding the July examination. Information about courtesy accommodations for lactating women may be found here.

SIXTH: As soon as possible after filing your application, submit the following materials to the West Virginia Board of Law Examiners at the address listed in Step Four. Your file will not be complete and you will not be eligible for admission until we have received these items:

SEVENTH: Keep the West Virginia Board of Law Examiners apprised of any changes in the information provided on your application by submitting an Application Update Form when necessary. You must also inform the NCBE of changes to your application using the NCBE’s amendment forms available under your NCBE online account.